cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Akakroke
Token Ring
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-22-2013
Location: CT, USA
Views: 1,222
Message 1 of 5

Y410p: Windows 8 or Windows 7?

Hi,

 

I just bought this machine with the intention of downgrading the OS. I did go out and buy a USB 32 GB thumb drive and made a 'One Click' backup first, using the Windows 'Activate Administrator Account' as the only existing User.

 

Then I did a Win 7 Pro 64 bit install. Very little worked because there were almost no drivers so I did a One Click Restore, which went perfectly well and I've been using 8 the past several days. Today I downloaded the 7 drivers from the site here but my wife is screaming at me so please wait unfil I finish this before any responses.

 

Thanks!

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 2,826
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
Location: Bangalore
Views: 1,175
Message 2 of 5

Re: Y410p: Windows 8 or Windows 7?

Hi Akakroke,

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community Forums!

 

I’m sorry to know that even after downgrading the OS (Operating System) and re-installing the pre-installed OS the Y410p is not working as expected, please provide the exact issue details so that I can go ahead assist you better with the concern.

 

Do post us back for further quires.

 

Best Regards

Shiva Kumar



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Akakroke
Token Ring
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-22-2013
Location: CT, USA
Views: 1,158
Message 3 of 5

Re: Y410p: Windows 8 or Windows 7?

 
Akakroke
Token Ring
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-22-2013
Location: CT, USA
Views: 1,150
Message 4 of 5

Re: Y410p: Windows 8 or Windows 7?

 

Shiva,

 

i have no idea where my reply to you went but am not going to type it all over again; i should have done a 'select/copy' before clicking on [Preview].

 

Actually, i'm going to just post this right now to make sure I'm doing it right Smiley Frustrated

 

Peter

 

Well, it happened again; when i clicked on [preview] it disappeared ... but i did copy it first. Anyway, the machine is working fine and the backup was restored without any problem so I didn't have to start all over again.

 

I am not sure if i will install the 32 or 64 bit version of Windows. I'd - like - to do the 64 but will compare the software agreements between the two. What got me so upset with 8 was reading the agreement prior to doing the install. What a joke when software says if you don't agree, don't install. Like there is a choice? I'm old enough to remember when a person 'bought' software then somewhere around 1982-6 i picked up Electronic Arts '7 Cities of Gold' and read my first lease agreement. I was going to return it but I kept it.

 

So I will return here after doing a backup of the current configuration (I've made a lot of changes and additions) of this system and trying to install 7 again; i think it will be the 32 bit version even though it will slow things down a whole lot.

 

I should have no problem doing a restore from 32 bit 7 to 64 bit 8, should I? I'm going to wait until i receive an answer on that before going ahead.

 

Thanks again,

Peter

Akakroke
Token Ring
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-22-2013
Location: CT, USA
Views: 1,114
Message 5 of 5

Re: Y410p: Windows 8 or Windows 7?

Ok, this marks the end of this discussion because I'm going with the file solution offered elsewhere and I've got other questions that have become more important.

Thanks to those who bothered to write suggestions to me!

Peter

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors