Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sky1409
Blue Screen Again
Views: 1,159
Message 1 of 2

Y50 - 70: Installing a clean copy of Windows

In about less than 2 months, we will have Windows 10 available. I have already signed up for a copy of it which will come free due to the current offer.

The situation here is this : I am going to install a clean copy of windows since there are quite a few problems I wish to address that came with the preinstalled copy of my 8.1.

Now there are a few questions i would like the community to help me solve.

1. My windows is using UEFI as its firmware and boot type(forgive any newbish mistakes please; as I am new to the UEFI buisness); so, should I pick to install windows with UEFI or would a legacy type be better in some way?

2. Will the product key insert itself automatically during installation or would the product key I recovered using Belarc Advisor work instead? Because some sources say that the key inserts itself automatically and some do not leaving one very confused.

3. There are a no. of system partitions showing in disk management. Can you advise me which ones to format, keep or change in some way for the installation and betterment in general {image below}? The C and D partitions I am already going to format and repartition; please tell me if there should be any problem regarding this and what is best not messed with.

Disk Management

4. I have a hybrid 1TB+8GB SSD Drive, will installing a clean copy affect it in any way? Because i heard from one of my sources that doing so somehow boggled up their hybrid drive.

Besides that i would appreciate any insight, problems or thoughts you may have regarding this that i should consider.

Laptop Specs:

Lenovo Y50-70 (59-440646)

Processor - Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4720HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz

RAM - 16 GBytes PC3-12800 DDR3L SDRAM 1600 MHz

VRAM - 4Gbytes(GTX 860M) + 1Gbytes(Intel HD Graphics 4600)

BIOS Version - 9ECN37WW(V2.01) by Lenovo

Firmware Type - UEFI