Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
seba2144
Paper Tape
Views: 10,162
Message 421 of 522

Re: Y50-70 Windows regularly freezes when 1TB SSHD is spinning up

Hi all, 

i am new in this topic, sorry for my bad english, i hope you dont delete my message, dont know is it any solution, but i share my observation. (read from end if you are lazy Smiley Happy )

I am using Y50 - i7 4710HQ 4(8) cores 2,5 gh, gtx 860m 2gb ddr 5, 8gb ddr3 ram, and hybrid ssd hard drive. (standard Y50) 

When i was using Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (driver installed form lenovo support like 6 months ago), and play League of Legends on higest details i didin't get any freezes.

Recently i tried reinstall W7 and could'nt install proper drivers from lenovo suport on my laptop, everytime i tried use nvidia card (and unplug charger) i get serious freeze, can't do anything, only hard reset worked, and i could just use intel HD graphics. I triend 8 times, from 4 different iso files, everytime fail.

So i install W8.1 x64 and my big freeze stopes, i could install almost all drivers, just couldn't install energy management.

But now i get those freezes when i play LoL on high details, once every 2-5 minutes, my screene frezes for 2-3 seconds. 

So, if somone can check my observation, if W7 (HP,Pro,Ultimate) is missing those freezes ? And then investigate why on W8.1 freezes appears ?

If you let know please let me know *************** Smiley Happy

Mod's Edit: Email address removed to protect owner from its unwanted use.

Highlighted
Former Employee
Views: 10,000
Message 422 of 522

The Lenovo investigation into customer reports of freezing, lag, and poor hard drive performance on Y50-70 and Y50-70 Touch laptops equipped with a 1TB Western Digital SSHD drive has concluded.

The root cause was determined to be a problem with the SATA Intel Rapid Storage Technology (IRST) driver.

The Service TIP regarding this issue can be found here: https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/documents/SF15-I0027