Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
evileye_11
Paper Tape
Views: 1,858
Message 1 of 3

Y50 touch boot error (Hard disk not detected) - Delay in repair

I bought a Y50 touch laptop in August 2014 and after just 3 months of usage the hard disk just crashed without any reason. Since the harddisk was not being detected (I checked the BIOS also) I could not back up my files. I sent my laptop for repair to Lenovo service depot as it  is still under warranty and I was informed by the technical support that Laptop will be repaired in 7 business days after it reached the repair station. But after the laptop reached, I was informed that the damaged part was not in stock and had to be ordered. On checking the repair status I found that ETA for the damaged part is 12/26/2014 which is more than 2 weeks than what i was told to get my laptop repaired.

Being a student, I am not able to complete my academic projects and related work due to this delay. I am forced to look for alternative laptops to buy as this delay will affect my professional work greatly.

anwar07
Paper Tape
Views: 1,774
Message 2 of 3

Re: Y50 touch boot error (Hard disk not detected) - Delay in repair

I had the EXACT problem! I got the touchscreen version of the Y50 from Amazon after about 3 months, the hard disk crashed. I sent my laptop to the depot center too (it arrived there in November 26) and the website said that the ETA for the hard disk was 12/29/14. This got me frustrated- I called up the service center and they passed the case to a Customer Relations Manager, who called me after 2 days offering me a new laptop! I got the new one on December 15- the day my final exams ended. Nonetheless, I was happy to get a new one!