cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Psyrecx
802.11n
Posts: 233
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
Location: Ohio
Views: 7,687
Message 1 of 13

Y500 Screen Replacement

If my screen needed to be replaced on my Y500 with a 1366x768 display, could I have it upgraded to a 1080p display or does it have cables that only support the original display?

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Lenovo Ideapad Y500 | Intel® Core™ I7-3630M @2.4GHz | 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM | Nvidia® Geforce™ GT 750M | 120GB Mushkin Atlas Deluxe mSATA SSD | 1TB Samsung Spinpoint M8 5400RPM HDD | 1080p Lenovo Display | Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260
Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 5,824
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
Location: PH
Views: 7,608
Message 2 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

hi Psyrecx,

 

Welcome to the Lenovo Community.

 

If you don't have the Full HD (1080p) version of the Y500 as listed in this pdf data sheet, you can still upgrade to a Full HD screen and you may not need to change the LCD cable as it is already an HD capable. You may need to patch the DSDT though when upgrading the resolution with dual link patch.

 

Check this upgrade guide and this article in reference.

 

 

Hope this helps.



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Jaycee70
Punch Card
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎09-28-2013
Location: Spain
Views: 7,004
Message 3 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

I want to do the reverse.  I want to change my 1920 x 1080 screen for 1366 x 768 one on my recently purchased Y500 from the UK...I just cannot get on with the very small fonts and  if  I set the resolution to 1366 x 768 the text is very fuzzy.  

 

Do I need the model and part number when trying to get a replacement screen, and where would I get one please.

Freak_Geek
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Location: India
Views: 6,672
Message 4 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

any luck yet?

Jaycee70
Punch Card
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎09-28-2013
Location: Spain
Views: 6,664
Message 5 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

Yes...I had a replacement screen shipped out from the UK to Spain for about 50 pounds sterling, and  fitted it myself., which was very easy.
I'm very happy with the result.  I did contact Lenovo spare part support in the UK and explained my problem.   After a lenghthy phone call they promised to send me price and shipping costs to Spain via email. I received nothing so I went down the Ebay road.

 

Merry Christmas

 

John 

http://www.laptopscreenonline.com/lenovo-ideapad-y500-laptop-screen-replacement-24015-p.asp

 

kylen
Punch Card
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎12-01-2013
Location: Toronto
Views: 6,654
Message 6 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

@ Jaycee - I was like you, shopping around for deals and thought I wouldn't want 1366x768, but after looking at all the 1920x1080 its a little too much.

I settled with 1600x900 on the y410p and its perfect font size and crisp images. I would reccomend this resolution as it seems best of both worlds (esp. 15"+)
5HADE
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
Location: London ON
Views: 6,311
Message 7 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

Hey, so I want to replace and upgrade the screen. Will buy the 1080p screen from laptopscreen.com. Its just that I have no idea what DSDT is and how to patch it if it is needed. As for your links, the last two links do not work.

SpheXz
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-03-2014
Location: Av. Hills 123
Views: 6,078
Message 8 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

Hi, I bought this laptop (Y500 PRODUCT: 20193) with a 15.6" HD screen but I want to upgrade to an FHD one.

Which screen I need? I looked for this LG LP156WF1(TL)(C1)

But I don't know which screen I need, and if the LG screen works.

Goodbye all.

Thanks

 

Moderator Note; subject edited; post merged in

jedisurfer1
Punch Card
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Location: US
Views: 6,007
Message 9 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

Hi I was wondering what the best 1080p for this laptop is and what the FRU number or screen I need to order. Thanks
Githlar
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
Location: Kansas,USA
Views: 5,712
Message 10 of 13

Re: Y500 Screen Replacement

If I recall correctly (and I may not, it's been a while since I opened mine up and did a search on the model and I've cleared browser history since then), the LP156WF1(TL)(CL) is the correct model. However, I would advise against purchasing from laptopscreen.com as they deal in "compatibles" which are not the exact model. For this screen they are offering a B156HW01 V.7 as the replacement. This screen is made by Au Optronics, not LG. Au Optronics is a very "you get what you pay for" brand and probably will not be up to par with the original screen.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors