Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ascalone
Blue Screen Again
Views: 4,526
Message 1 of 11

Y510p Fried Motherboard Normal Use Below 1 Year

FYI guys,

I bought a Y510p in the beginning of 2014, I am a university student that does ocassional gaming not a heavy gamer. Bought the laptop for college use and gaming on the side. I know the warranty is only 1 year and this is not why I am writting this complaint.

The laptop is used normally, never dropped never abused. I like every aspect of the laptop but not the trackpad just under $1,200 I am not going to complain. In fact I still like it but it's sitting dead atm.

Room Temperature : 20 - 25 C

Laptop Cooler : Coolermaster CM Storm SF-19 USB 2.0

1st Problem: Fried Motherboard

I was Skyping with my gf and like any other laptops I shut the lid so it goes to standby mode, I was going to go out for that night. Got home and opened the lid only the power LED light was on and no fan noise nothing. Tried every method Lenovo customer service told me over the phone (power discharge, etc). This happened just under a year I remembered I shipped it to Lenovo just a month before my warrranty expired. Just like any other warranty method, they will try to fix if they can before swapping the motherboard. At this point I was happy my Y510p got fixed.

2nd Problem: Fried Motherboard

Not long after the "fix" which was only re-soldering the chipset which was written in the 1st repair invoice from Lenovo my laptop motherboard got fried again. Again I was doing some word processing and closed the lid to grab food, when I came and opened the lid only the power LED light was on, no fan noise nothing and at this point I was enraged. Obviously I was about 5 months past my warranty period so they won't fix this again.