cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
ArChLinuxOS
802.11n
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎06-02-2014
Location: Houston, Texas
Views: 6,114
Message 1 of 11

Y510p RAM Upgrade

I'm looking to upgrade my laptop standard 8GB generic brand RAM to something a bit better for intense gaming and video editing. I'm looking at Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600MHz CAS 9, and also GSKILL Ripjaws (same speed and latency). Would either of these work in the laptop? The specs seem right, but I don't know if the BIOS will accept new memory.

 

Also looking at buying a Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD and a Western Digital 1TB My Passport Ultra external HDD. Any comments/advice?

Y510p: i7 4700MQ (Overclocked to 3.6GHz), SLI GT 755M (Each Overclocked 111MHz), Corsair Vengeance 16GB 2133MHz, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB, MyDigitalSSD SuperBoot 128GB, Intel Wireless-AC 7260, Windows 10 Home
Dell XPS 13 (2015): i5 5200U, Intel HD 5500, 4GB 1600MHz, 128GB Samsung M.2 SSD, 802.11ac WLAN, Windows 10 Home (School Laptop)
JakeSully
Broadband 3G
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎04-07-2014
Location: Sverige
Views: 6,095
Message 2 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

you should check the Maintenance manual for y510p, there should be a list of certified RAM memorys that are certified and is approved by BIOS.
Jacek
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2014
Location: Poland
Views: 6,076
Message 3 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

Hello,
I bought a Lenovo laptop. Model y510p with 4Gb of RAM. I would like to buy and install another 4 GB. Can I remove the bottom cover without fear of loss of warranty? Can you give me the parameters of mounted RAM? My computer: Lenovo Y510P (59395035) 4GB RAM.

JakeSully
Broadband 3G
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎04-07-2014
Location: Sverige
Views: 6,070
Message 4 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

remvoing cover under does not void your warranty, it's when you exchange content inside that may void your warranty if your trying to put non-certified/supported stuff into laptop, but as default the laptop has support up to 16GB DDR3 RAM 1600MHz so as long you upgrade to a additional 4GB that is same no as first one or that the new one is listed in ram certified list then you can do that.
Jacek
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2014
Location: Poland
Views: 6,066
Message 5 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

Thank you for your response. During a telephone conversation Lenovo Support said that only authorized service can replace memory.. I hope that you're telling the truth, and the guarantee will stay active

Guru
Posts: 3,429
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Location: MX
Views: 6,063
Message 6 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

The memory comes under CRU, Customer Replacable Unit, so as long as you use "Certified" memory, you should be fine.

 

Replacing a part is different than upgrading. I removed my DVD drive and put in the Ultrbay GPU, that didnt void the warranty (since it is certified by Lenovo ).

 

I believe the memory parts are clearly stated in Lenovo Manual for Y510p. I have been trying to search as well but here in US, the exact part I am looking for is around $100, so I will stay with 8GB RAM for some more time.

 

EDIT --

 

Also on Youtube, I have seen that the guy replaced his stock RAM with RipJaws, so I guess those should work fine as well. They are NOT certified in the manual.

---------------------------------
Current System - Lenovo Y720
Y720 REVIEW - Youtube Link (Opens in New Tab)
If your experience was good today, please feel free to give KUDOS. It Ain't Over, 'til it's over.
Jacek
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2014
Location: Poland
Views: 6,054
Message 7 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

Thank you very much for your help guys. Time to buy a memory Smiley Happy

Varroa
802.11n
Posts: 376
Registered: ‎11-12-2013
Location: Canada
Views: 6,048
Message 8 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

Make sure it is 1.35v and not 1.5v sticks. The system is not compatible with 1.5v sticks.

ArChLinuxOS
802.11n
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎06-02-2014
Location: Houston, Texas
Views: 6,036
Message 9 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

Thanks. I saw the guy with the Ripjaws too, but I just wanted to make sure. I've ordered the RAM now, hope it works Smiley Tongue.

Y510p: i7 4700MQ (Overclocked to 3.6GHz), SLI GT 755M (Each Overclocked 111MHz), Corsair Vengeance 16GB 2133MHz, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB, MyDigitalSSD SuperBoot 128GB, Intel Wireless-AC 7260, Windows 10 Home
Dell XPS 13 (2015): i5 5200U, Intel HD 5500, 4GB 1600MHz, 128GB Samsung M.2 SSD, 802.11ac WLAN, Windows 10 Home (School Laptop)
Varroa
802.11n
Posts: 376
Registered: ‎11-12-2013
Location: Canada
Views: 6,031
Message 10 of 11

Re: Y510p RAM Upgrade

I put 2 x 8 GB 1866 ripjaws in mine and they work great.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors