Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kilfaze
Fanfold Paper
Views: 436
Message 1 of 3

Y560 - Laptop in billable hold but can't pay/Damage wasn't done by me

Hi guys,

Just last week, I sent in my Y560 for a repair to be done on the screen since every time I would move it, the screen would freeze or get a BSoD. Anyways, I didn't realize that Lenovo would charge me for the cracks I had on the side of the laptop (about $187) or else I would have repaired it myself. The real problem I don't have the necessary funds to cover for that kind of repair (given I am a college student would has to pay for textbooks, room, board, etc.). So I talked to the agent on the phone for a while as I explained my situation to them and they said I had to get the call escalated to Customer Relations. My questions is will Customer Relations empathize with my situation and waive the fees because I could really use that kind of help right now and that would take one less stressor off the table. 

Thanks in advance for the responses.

Note: None of the damages were done by me, but I don't really have proof of that.

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Views: 383
Message 2 of 3

Re: Y560 - Laptop in billable hold but can't pay/Damage wasn't done by me

hi kilfaze,

The Customer Relations dept. is the one who review the cases that the service team can't do (i.e. approve repairs, reject repair requests, etc.) and they usually check the findings of the technician before they conduct the final say on the case.

The BSOD that you're getting when you move the screen might due to the following:

1. Defective LCD cable

2. Loose connection from the motherboard to the LCD

3. Defective motherboard (the slot where the LCD cable is inserted)

4. Defective LCD (the slot where the LCD cable is inserted)

If the problem is just the LCD cable, it will be an inexpensive repair and you might get a one time exemption (then again, this will be up to the person who's gonna review your case).