cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
reddog093
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-27-2010
Location: US
Views: 6,919
Message 1 of 15

Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

Is it possible to replace the optical drive with a 2nd hard drive?  I've installed a 128GB SSD as my primary drive on my Y560.  I'm interested in disassembling the laptop and replacing the Optical Drive with a secondary hard drive for storage.  It doesn't appear that the DVD Drive is designed to be removed, but is it possible with some effort to replace?

LethaLUngs
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Location: CA
Views: 6,842
Message 2 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

reddog093
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-27-2010
Location: US
Views: 6,809
Message 3 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

Perfect! Thanks!

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 1,031
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Location: CA
Views: 6,793
Message 4 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

I'm waiting for one in the mail, I got it from eBay for half the price.

 

Couple of things to note:

 

1) Ensure the listing is for some Lenovo Y line. I know the Y450, Y550, and Y530 share a common drive size. I'd assume the Y560 and Y460 share a common sizing too.

 

2) The one I ordered clearly shows how to swap with your optical drive's cover, so that you don't have an odd gap on the side of your machine.

 

3) Note the accepted hard drive size. In the one I'll link below (I found they have good reviews, tracking number doesn't work though, whatever), it takes 9.5mm drives.

 

http://cgi.ebay.ca/2nd-hard-drive-caddy-Lenovo-IdeaPad-Y450-Y460-Y530-/280607616925?pt=PCC_Drives_Storage_Internal&hash=item4155846f9d#ht_1976wt_1139

 

I chose this one because it actually says Lenovo Y450, so I know it'll work.

 

If you get yours before I do, let me know how it works out. I'll do the same for you!

←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Tap that kudos button if I helped ^^
←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
ducatisteve
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-20-2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Views: 6,776
Message 5 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

I ordered a caddy for the Y460P which supposedly uses the same one as the Y560. Both it, the SSD, and the computer should arrive early next week and I'll be sure to post a thread on the installation (with plenty of picture goodness).
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 1,031
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Location: CA
Views: 6,774
Message 6 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

Don't mean to take this off topic, but which SSD, from where, and how much? I'm looking into one.

←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Tap that kudos button if I helped ^^
←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
ducatisteve
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-20-2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Views: 6,729
Message 7 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

I ended up choosing the OCZ Vertex 2 60GB. Got it off of Newegg for $129. I think that should be perfect for using as a boot disc and holding one or maybe two games. I'll have the original 750GB HDD in the NewmodeUS caddy in the optical drive.
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 1,031
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Location: CA
Views: 6,708
Message 8 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

Cool! I picked up a Corsair Force series device, looks as though the speeds are the same.

 

Word is the best methodology is to put the SSD in your current bay, and the original in the CD bay.

←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Tap that kudos button if I helped ^^
←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
ducatisteve
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-20-2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Views: 6,689
Message 9 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

Yup, that's the plan. I have the caddy already, hopefully the SSD arrives tomorrow as well so I won't have to setup Windows 7 twice.
abhi007
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-31-2011
Location: Canada
Views: 6,588
Message 10 of 15

Re: Y560 - Replace optical drive with 2nd hard drive?

I am eagerly waiting for your post as I am planning to do the same.

 

Please let me know if this works for you.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors