cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
bobek74
Not applicable
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-25-2011
Location: Ohio
Views: 1,979
Message 1 of 7

Y560 rapid drive 32gb ssd + 500gb HDD

I'm posting here hoping that someone can offer some suggestions. 

 

As far as I know, I have a laptop with rapid drive.  It's a refurbished Y560 that I just received about 2 weeks ago. 

Here's the funny part, I don't know if I actually have rapid drive enabled on this computer.  Reason is that I see a C drive and also a D drive.    C drive being the system drive and D drive is empty with about 425GB of space.   C drive is with 30gb total and 7 gb available of space. 

 

Since rapid drive is suppose to integrate both drives, I'm not sure why I'm seeing 2 drives.  In addition, I'm trying to install Win 7 SP1 but I need 9gb of available space.  I've moved my paging file and also any temp files to my D drive.  I've also eliminated as much bloatware as I can. 

 

I'm hoping some day I'll be able to eliminate the 500HDD and just have 1 larger SSD.   Will this be possible?

 

I've searched this forum but it seems most people don't have the rapid drive.

 

Thanks,

 

yigit
Not applicable
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 1,971
Message 2 of 7

Re: Y560 rapid drive 32gb ssd + 500gb HDD

any "rapid drive" sticker on your computer?
trying to perform clean or upgrade windows installation?
if it is upgrade, you can un-install all drivers before upgrade ( i suggest that )

also, burn recovery discs before windows installation. ( just in case you may need it )

c volume seems your primary volume ( ssd ), d volume is your hdd ( first partition, there's a hidden partition for 30-50 gb for one key recover function )

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
bobek74
Not applicable
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-25-2011
Location: Ohio
Views: 1,958
Message 3 of 7

Re: Y560 rapid drive 32gb ssd + 500gb HDD

Hello Yigit,

 

Yes I do have a rapid drive sticker on my computer.  I also do have rapid driver installed since I can see the icon in the icon tray.  You're also  correct that there's a hidden partition for the one key recovery on the standard drive. 

 

I'm not trying to reinstall all the drivers, I'm merely trying to patch Windows 7 with Win 7 Sp1. 

 

In addition, I've already created 2 Windows Recovery Discs through the One Key Recovery program. I appreciate your excellent advice before I actually do something drastic. 

 

Again, even though rapid drive driver is installed  I don't believe this computer is in hybrid mode since I'm seeing 2 drives instead of 1.  This luckily, isn't my concern.  My concern is mainly that I want to patch windows but I'm not sure what other files I can eliminate.   I do hope that I can patch windows w/o getting a new SSD.  However, if the only way to patch it is to get a new SSD and image it then so be it.   

 

yigit
Not applicable
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 1,752
Message 4 of 7

Re: Y560 rapid drive 32gb ssd + 500gb HDD

before installing sp1, i suggest you to take a look at the thread below:

http://forum.lenovo.com/t5/Windows-7-Discussion/Windows-7-SP-1-Now-Available/td-p/380341

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
bobek74
Not applicable
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-25-2011
Location: Ohio
Views: 1,737
Message 5 of 7

Re: Y560 rapid drive 32gb ssd + 500gb HDD

Thank you, Yigit.

 

On that note, I'll probably wait to install Win 7 Sp1.  It just seems too many issues right now.  I've also looked at the configuration of the drives.  I guess I have a pcie msata 32gb ssd and also a 2.5 standard laptop drive.  I don't believe I want to upgrade either one right now till more research is done on this Y560. 

yigit
Not applicable
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 1,735
Message 6 of 7

Re: Y560 rapid drive 32gb ssd + 500gb HDD

do not forget to take a look at the document below for compatible devices.
http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/uk/en/UserGuide/Guide_show_1273733246573.html

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Kyle_Y560
Not applicable
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Location: New York, NY
Views: 1,706
Message 7 of 7

Re: Y560 rapid drive 32gb ssd + 500gb HDD

"Documentation" on Rapiddrive is here.  In Windows Disk Management, you should see an image similar to Figure 10.  Disk 0 will be your combined SSD + HDD.  Disk 1 is a bug and shows the SSD as "uninitialized".  Ignore this error and don't attempt to change partitions (read my comments below).

http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/us/en/HintsandTips/ShowDoc.aspx?ID=12870415982811

 

Some of my observations that might be helpful:

     Immediately use OneKey to burn a Factory Recovery CD/DVD because Lenovo doesn't provide a recovery CD with new laptops.  You also need to take a backup.

     Do not rely on OneKey recovery for a *full* backup of your drive.  It only backs up your "system partition" (C Drive). Use software that takes a full backup including the hidden Windows 7 boot partition, C: (system partition), D: (lenovo drivers partition), and hidden recovery partition.  Maybe try Lenovo's Rescue Recovery, Acronis, etc. (at your own risk).

     Don't attempt to initialize, delete, create, resize partitions using Windows Disk Management.  Read the link above which talks about a Lenovo Rapiddrive bug that shows the SSD as an uninitialized "Disk 1" in Disk Management.  Leave Disk 1 alone. Rapiddrive has already combined the SSD and HDD as "Disk 0".  Don't mess with partitions unless you are an expert and willing to do a full recovery in case something goes wrong.

     If you plan on replacing your harddrive, here's a link to my own experience replacing the 2.5" HDD with an SSD:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-B-V-and-Z-series/How-fast-or-slow-is-your-EE-Rapiddrive/td-p...

 

 

 

 

  

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors