Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
HDMI
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: Bulgaria
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Y570 Ram

Does the Y570 with    i7 2670QM support 1600MHz Ram modules or only 1333MHz??

802.11n
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

No you can use the 1600 or the 1066 as well, it's documented in one of the manuals.

HDMI
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: Bulgaria
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

And if I buy 1600 they will run on their actual frequency, not 1333 right?

Token Ring
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Location: Colorado
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

Ususally the system will run it at the fastest speed it can. So there would be no reason to get 1600 ram unless its cheeper.

Posts: 3,827
Topics: 131
Kudos: 265
Solutions: 184
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

Hi kostadinbal,

the max frequency is 1333MHz. So its not worth the money to buy the 1600 ones.

best

Andreas

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

HDMI
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: Bulgaria
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

Hello,

Are you sure it is 1333? Because some sources say that the i7 can support up to 1600. Strange , I though that the maximum was 1333 but then I saw the cheap 8GB 1600 kit Smiley Happy))

Token Ring
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Location: Colorado
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

Hell if its equal to or cheeper then a 1333 kit why not try it. For all we know you could prove us wrong.

HDMI
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: Bulgaria
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

I'm not entirely sure that its cheaper, I just saw some kits on Amazon.com and the 8GB (2x4) was like 43 $

802.11n
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

[ Edited ]

kostadinbal wrote:

I'm not entirely sure that its cheaper, I just saw some kits on Amazon.com and the 8GB (2x4) was like 43 $


If you can get  8GB (2x4) 1600Mhz for $43 you'd be mad not to buy it, seeing it's compatible and it could get to that speed with the right bios. Because I don't believe there is a hardware reason why it can't get to 1600Mhz but rather a software reason.

Serial Port
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
Location: warsaw/poland
0 Kudos

Re: Y570 Ram

Check specs on the intel site. Max what it can handle is 1333MHz.
When I was changing RAM I bought 2x 4GB 1333 CL-9, then I checked on intel specs that it can handle max 1066.
What was the good thing is that when I changed RAM to 1066 CL-7 it boosted Windows index ( from 6.4 to 6.9 )


http://ark.intel.com/products/53469/Intel-Core-i7-2670QM-Processor-%286M-Cache-2_20-GHz%29
Memory Specifications
Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type)
16 GB
Memory Types
DDR3-1066/1333
# of Memory Channels
2
Max Memory Bandwidth
21.3 GB/s
ECC Memory Supported
No
=============================================================================================
y460, i7 640m, 8GB 1066 CL-7, 80GB SSD Intel 310 pci-e + 500GB HDD WD, ATI 5650m + eGPU GTX 560 Ti 2GB GDDR5