cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
paundnes
Punch Card
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
Location: Germany
Views: 1,550
Message 421 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

Nice, this is not the beta one right?

 

Going to give a shot now.

Jelon
Punch Card
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Location: PL
Views: 1,546
Message 422 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

no it is the official Smiley Happy so you are right it's not beta
______________________________________
... ain't never so bad that it couldn't get worse ...
Pito
Punch Card
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-22-2012
Location: Egypt
Views: 1,462
Message 423 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

Has anyone tried the new drivers yet?

paundnes
Punch Card
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
Location: Germany
Views: 1,459
Message 424 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

It's working. I don't see any differences though compared to the old ones, might depend on your system ;-)

Jelon
Punch Card
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Location: PL
Views: 1,448
Message 425 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

Same as paundnes I don't see much difference so far. I had run the Cinebench 11.5 and got about 0.04 more FPS according to the BETA drivers

______________________________________
... ain't never so bad that it couldn't get worse ...
MaXimus666
802.11n
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Location: Dubai
Views: 1,434
Message 426 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

With the new drivers, when I run simple games such as Solitaire or Hearts they crash with an unknown error and mind you I did a clean install from a freshly formatted Windows 7 Professional x64

this exact issue happened to me in the Beta.

They would only run if I disable my nVIDIA GPU and run them from the HD Graphics integrated chipset so Im back to 296.10 Smiley Sad
ASUS G750JX-CV050H | i7-4700HQ @ 2.40 GHz. | 32 GB DDR3 1600 MHz. Hynix RAM | 256 GB LiteOn LCM-256M3S SSD + 1 TB Seagate Momentus ST1000LM024 5400 RPM HDD | GeForce GTX 770M 3 GB GDDR5 RAM | 17.3" Full HD 3D Glossy Screen
jerzilla
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Location: vancouver
Views: 1,279
Message 427 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

how to get rid of the FPS drop/throttling in games:

1) Install the newest 555m drivers from nvidia
2) download ThrottleStop, always leave it on with the "Disable Turbo" option checked
3) Set minimum and maximum processor power management to 100% (you can leave battery minimum at 5% if you want)
4) Change from Automatic to NVidia GT555M in nvidia control panel
rkdeane
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-17-2010
Location: Barbados
Views: 1,086
Message 428 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

Where to you get throttle stop? softpedia?

 

Has anyone tried this with success.

 

My Lenovo y570 really has been a failure when it comes to BF3, I wish I had bought soemthing else.Though I do love the SSD. IT HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT ENDLESS CRASHES. My quit rate in bf3 is almost 40% !!!!

rkdeane
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-17-2010
Location: Barbados
Views: 1,084
Message 429 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

The Disable Turbo option is not available. In grey, can't select it. Smiley Sad

 

Also I am undercloking, only way i Can finish a game. However the graphics driver crashes all my settings are reset adn I have to go and change them each time. Is this normal....any way to stop it form happening, as it is a pain in the ass.

zitnikp
Token Ring
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
Location: Slovenia
Views: 1,074
Message 430 of 450

Re: Y570 - Why do games run better off my battery and choppy when its plugged in?

So.

 

Open up throttlestop, and check the left side of the screen where all those "tick boxes" are. Do you see the "Set Multiplier"? Well, on the right side of it, there is something where you can change the numbers, and just keep on pushing the "UP" arrow on the right side of those numbers, until you come to "turbo". Boom. You should have a nice tickable "Disable turbo" tickbox Smiley Happy

 

Hope it helped!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors