01-07-2014 10:00 PM
I have a Lenovo Y580 laptop and I can't turn on the Intel Virtualization Technology in BIOS. I see the proper option for VT-x, which was disabled, and enabled it. But after a restart, when I enter the BIOS again, it is still disabled...
Of course, I saved the change in BIOS before exiting. I want to virtualize a 64-bit system with VirtualBox, and it shows me the message that VT-x is still disabled.
I have the latest BIOS available, that is: 5DCN40WW (v. 2.07). I configure BIOS via InsydeH20 Setup Utility Rev. 3.7. The only changes I have made to BIOS/booting is that I dual boot into Windows 8 / Kubuntu 13.10. I use UEFI and have Secure Boot turned off (that also is a change by myself).
Does anyone have any idea, what the reason for that may be?
01-08-2014 07:28 AM
Hello and welcome,
After enabling and saving BIOS settings, did you do a full power-off, power-on restart? That's usually necessary for the change to be visible to the OS - not sure about BIOS visibility.
The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.
The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog
01-08-2014 08:57 PM
I did some more trial and error. And it seems that VT-x isn't the only setting that behaves that way. When I make changes to, for example, Power Beep and Wireless LAN Support, the changes also reset after power off. What's strange, when I set some settings and exit BIOS, it powers off my machine, and with some settings exiting BIOS continues the boot process.
But there is a setting that I can change properly. That is the System Date. So it's not a problem that no setting can be changed.
I also tried saving the changes (without exiting) and then exiting. After saving such a change without exit, the settings are properly changed. But on exit, some of them get reset as always.