cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mattezell
Token Ring
Views: 17,349
Message 1 of 5

Y580 Wifi Problems - Frequently drops to 'limited - No Internet'. Disconnect and reconnect restores

Ok, Lenovo - This is getting ridiculous!

The more I use this laptop, the more things go wrong, the more I Google and see people with the same or very similar issues without resolutions... You're company is doomed with quality like this - do you even have a QA team?

So, not on to the newest problem identified with brand freaking new Y580... *sigh*

Periodically, and with seeming increasing frequency, my wifi connection drops to 'limited - no internet'... I am using the same router that I have always used with all of my laptops and other network capable devices - none of which are or have ever experienced this problem... I am a programmer by trade and a technophile by passion - not a novice in the world of technology.

I can get Internet communications back by disconnecting from the network and then immediately reconnecting.  I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers as well as trying an alternate channel and also using Intel issued official drivers - all with the same result...

Does anyone out there have experience with this specific issue and have a specific resolution...  For what it is worth, I am using a 'N' capable Rosewill router running DD-WRT...  I have a Macbook Pro, an Eee PC, a HP Elitebook, a Compaq Presario, 2 HP touchpads, a Nexus 7, 2 Droid Razr Maxx, a PS3, Wii and Xbox 360... All are connected without issue and without experiencing this problem.. I feel safe in saying that it is unique to this "quality" Y580..

As it currently stands, as much as I *want* to like this laptop, I am really regretting the decision to give Lenovo another shake - feel like it was foolish to give the company another chance - as it has thus far proven to be a really, really bad idea from my experiences in the 3 days that I have had this laptop..