cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
middleton
Token Ring
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Location: Russia
Views: 5,396
Message 1 of 16

Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

I've just found out that Lenovo Y650 has almost the same BIOS as Y550 model. So Y650 owners can use this procedure for Y550 to activate Intel VT.

deus
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-05-2009
Location: Houston
Views: 5,345
Message 2 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

Hello Middleton,

 

It looks you've been hard at work fixing up Lenovo's inhibited BIOS. 

 

I have a Y650 and i have a friend who just got a new Y550.  His bios is newer than mine (i got the Y650 right when it came out), and has an option to disable the extremely annoying AC adapter removal beep, and it generally seems more stable.   Are these BIOS's similar enough where I can load up the Y550 bios on mine?   We both have P8700 processors with nvidia graphics cards.   Any ideas on where I can find a BIOS file to flash?

 

Thanks for your help with the VT enabling, we all appreciate it.

 

tuteken
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2009
Location: Canada
Views: 5,144
Message 3 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

Hello Middleton,

I just wanted to thank you. 

 

I followed your guide and was able to get hardware virtualization (Intel VT) enabled on my Y650.

 

----

A side note for anybody else with a Y650, follow middleton's guide (follow the link above).  The only change I had to makes, was I had to add the lines.  Not edit, because they where not already there.

 

My machine is:

 

Model: Ideapad Y650-55U

BIOs Version: 2.01

Highlighted
middleton
Token Ring
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Location: Russia
Views: 5,098
Message 4 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

tuteken

 

it's great!

It seems that virtualization problem has been solved for all Lenovo laptops now Smiley Happy.

 

giesu
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-18-2009
Location: Poland
Views: 4,400
Message 5 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

Hi Do You have to Dumpbios with enabling VT for Y650 (1.04 have) and send to me or link? Smiley Happy Please

middleton
Token Ring
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Location: Russia
Views: 4,373
Message 6 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

giesu

 

You don't need to flash new BIOS. Use the procedure for Y550 (I gave link to it in my first post). You have to change the following BIOS variables: (0372) and (0375). And of course your CPU must support VT.

giesu
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-18-2009
Location: Poland
Views: 4,310
Message 7 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

middleton

 

Thanks - Working Smiley Very Happy

james550
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
Location: PDX
Views: 4,241
Message 8 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

What if I see 0372 and not 0375 (or the reverse)?  I checked the BIOS, it shows 1.04.  I looked for the two numbers as shown in the Y550 post and only found one of the two.  Do I need to add the other in?  Or, do I need to change  one or two numbers that differ from what is shown for the Y550 w/the same BIOS?

middleton
Token Ring
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Location: Russia
Views: 4,231
Message 9 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

james550

You should manually add the absent variable (0372 or 0375).

 

Guys! I can't understand why you periodically ask me the questions like this. I've written in the guide the following:

"if you cannot find variable then type it yourself".

English is not my native language. Maybe this phrase sounds ambiguously?

james550
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
Location: PDX
Views: 4,200
Message 10 of 16

Re: Y650 virtualization (Intel VT) [SOLVED]

What you said (about adding things in if they did not exist) made sense.  I simply wanted to confirm as I hadn't seen it mentioned for my exact model / firmware.  As I don't have a 100% understanding of the similarities between the Y550 and Y650 BIOS I had wanted to be certain that I wouldn't risk anything by my actions before I actually took them.

 

I only had the 0375 figure in my dump file (no 0372).  I only updated the 0375 when I first attempted to follow your directions/post.  I then came and posted my question here.  While I waited for an answer, I booted the system as normal and ran XP Mode, VMWare VT-style, and everything worked (no "you don't have virtualization enabled" type errors).  So, I am not certain what the "0372" is supposed to change but, for now, only changing the 0375 has moved me from being unable to use anything dependant on hardware virtualization to having full use of all such programs.  

 

At this point, is it necessary (or at least smart) for me to go back in and create the 0372 entry in the BIOS txt file?  Thanks for your help.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors