cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
mikes5785
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-01-2008
Location: No Central IL
Views: 2,331
Message 1 of 8

Y710 add 2nd harddrive

I want to add a 2nd hard drive to my Y710.  What adapters are necessary to add one to the 2nd drive bay?

 

I ordered a drive from my local coumpter guru and tried to install it but the sata connector would not meet the one in the computer

 

Thanks

 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 2,266
Message 2 of 8

Re: Y710 add 2nd harddrive

you can use external hdd.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
mikes5785
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-01-2008
Location: No Central IL
Views: 2,264
Message 3 of 8

Re: Y710 add 2nd harddrive

Already do that !!!! Not what I asked Smiley Mad


@yigit wrote:

you can use external hdd.


 

 

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 2,227
Message 4 of 8

Re: Y710 add 2nd harddrive

it was the easy way.

then change your hdd with compatible one.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
canon1753
Punch Card
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Location: VT
Views: 1,923
Message 5 of 8

Re: Y710 add 2nd harddrive

Does any 9.5mm, 2.5 inch sata drive work or is there a specific style or type of sata drive that will work?

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 1,879
Message 6 of 8

Re: Y710 add 2nd harddrive

sata connector would not meet the one in the computer

i suggest you to check compatibility.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
mikes5785
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-01-2008
Location: No Central IL
Views: 1,873
Message 7 of 8

Re: Y710 add 2nd harddrive

How would one check for compatibility with the "apparent" non-standard SATA connection/location in the Y-710


@yigit wrote:

sata connector would not meet the one in the computer

i suggest you to check compatibility.


 

 

canon1753
Punch Card
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Location: VT
Views: 1,867
Message 8 of 8

Re: Y710 add 2nd harddrive

I suspect that you and I have the same problem- I think the sata interface is about a 1/4 inch off.  Up was supposed to be down or something like that.  I think the options we have are these: 1. Forget the second internal drive.  2. get the sata port fixed (requires depot shipping).  3. get a 22 pin cable and plug it in and have an external drive with an internal plug.  4. get someone to make a 1/4 (that's a guess- I can't get the top open on the system to actually measure) inch offset sata male female adapter.

 

If anyone goes for option 4, let me know.  I sent mine away already and the tech did not understand what I was looking for.  The cable option is not bad, but you have a mess if you want to use the system as an actual mobile computer...

 

I do remember seeing someone saying they put one of the types of hard drive that I have tried to use into their y730 with no problem.

 

Edit- I'm going to send my y730 in for repairs/moving the sata port.  I have warranty left, so might as well use it...

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors