English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

05-19-2014

Dunedin, NZ

9 Signins

73 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎05-19-2014
  • Location: Dunedin, NZ
  • Views: 73
  • Message 1 of 9

Z560 Upgrade CPU & RAM

2014-05-19, 11:44 AM

Hi


I want to upgrade Lenovo Z560's CPU but I am not sure about it. I can see that CPU is easily accesible and it supports socket G1(988pins) which gives me lots of options there like i5's and i7's first generation. Precisely I want to upgrade it to i7 extreme but I dont know whether my motherboard is capable for it or not, if not then what other options do I have in i7 range. Can someone please help me with this. I recently updated the BIOS from v2.11 to v2.15 that caused my windows 8.1 to crash but somehow I fixed that problem and along with that please let me know if there is anything else I need to know before upgrading CPU. I have already ordered 2x4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 204 pin Corsair RAM. I tried to call the Lenovo's tech deptt. but they weren't any help. Any help here will be much appreciated.
Thanks
Regards
Ben

Specs:
Intel Core i3-380M Arrandale SV @2.53GHz
TDP: 25W
Technology: 32nm
Socket G1 (rPGA988A)
Motherboard: LENOVO Base Board Product Name
Chipset: Intel HM55 (IbexPeak-M DH)
BIOS Ver: 29CN38WW(V2.15)
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 310M [Lenovo] 512MB GT218M
Memory: PC3-8500 DDR3 SDRAM SO-DIMM 3GB Dual Channe; (2GB+1GB)
HDD: 500GB:cathappy:

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

4468 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4468
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU & RAM

2014-05-21, 23:16 PM

hi 

 

You can refer to your systems Maintenance Manual for Parts

http://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mobiles_pub/ideapad_z560_z565_hmm_1st_edition_apr_2010.pdf

 

This list CPU / Processor that can be fitted to your Mainboard and should support it.

Capture.JPG

 

also refer to the manual for Part Replacement

 

Regards

Solid Cruver



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2 Posts

05-19-2014

Dunedin, NZ

9 Signins

73 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎05-19-2014
  • Location: Dunedin, NZ
  • Views: 73
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU & RAM

2014-05-30, 3:30 AM

hi I bought a Ram for myself the spec are:

Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 Memory 1333Mhz

SoDIMM

1.5V

 

But its not working in my PC. Any solution to make it work?

ThANKS

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-21-2014

Brazil

1 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-21-2014
  • Location: Brazil
  • Views: 32
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU & RAM

2014-08-21, 2:19 AM

Sorry for unburying this one, but I'm having some problems here,

I just upgraded my z560 with a i7 q720, and it is working, except for not recognizing the nVidio 310M chip, would anyone know why?

Reply
Options

5385 Posts

05-09-2013

US

6273 Signins

19373 Page Views

  • Posts: 5385
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 19373
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU & RAM

2014-08-21, 2:30 AM

wrote:

Sorry for unburying this one, but I'm having some problems here,

I just upgraded my z560 with a i7 q720, and it is working, except for not recognizing the nVidio 310M chip, would anyone know why?


Have you tried resetting the bios to default values? Also try reinstalling/updating the chipset driver.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-21-2014

Brazil

1 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-21-2014
  • Location: Brazil
  • Views: 32
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU

2014-08-21, 2:40 AM
Reseted and updated the BIOS. Although it's kind of sad not being able to
check the voltages.

Will download the current chipset driver, but I did reinnstall the with the
version that came in the HD.

Nothing happened. Am afraid that the psu can't supply both of them, is that
a possibility?

Reply
Options

5385 Posts

05-09-2013

US

6273 Signins

19373 Page Views

  • Posts: 5385
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 19373
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU

2014-08-21, 3:08 AM

wrote:
Reseted and updated the BIOS. Although it's kind of sad not being able to
check the voltages.

Will download the current chipset driver, but I did reinnstall the with the
version that came in the HD.

Nothing happened. Am afraid that the psu can't supply both of them, is that
a possibility?


I think the cpu is not supported by the bios. Here are the cpu's for your unit.

 

Z560 CPU.JPG

Reply
Options

1 Posts

03-16-2017

IN

1 Signins

8 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎03-16-2017
  • Location: IN
  • Views: 8
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU & RAM

2017-03-16, 8:49 AM

Use

DDR3 PC3-8500 1066 MHz

it will work 100%

Reply
Options

1 Posts

07-22-2019

US

4 Signins

22 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎07-22-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 22
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: Z560 Upgrade CPU & RAM

2019-07-22, 21:48 PM

Can the Z560 accept 16GB ram?

With Windows10, I find that 8GB is just not quite enough...

 

I know it is not on the compatible list, but, will it recognize 16GB if installed?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save