cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Irritated
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-27-2015
Location: Bulgaria
Views: 1,305
Message 1 of 7

Z710 disable hard drive

Hi there

I got an a Idea Pad z710 , but the box is isnt here 'so I can't see the exact specification, so here are some of the setup  Intel i7 4710, , ram 16g, hybrid 1tb + 8gb flash HD and FHD dysplay

 

I instaled An a Samsung Evo III250gb in a caddy replacing the DWD. Luckily, no troubs, as a lot of guys there suffering not reading ot so. Its detectable and useful without need to replace the original HHHD. 

My question is is it posible to disable either the HHHD or the SSD by BIOS, cuz I couldent find such feature, but saw it on another comps. I see the last BIOS update is from late 2014 nad I bought it in the mid 2015, so , I gues it should be the last one (not checking it exactly). 

Edit: BIOS verssion: 7FCN96WW

I puted 2 OS on both devices, but when boot it asks which to start and when load, the another one is visible.

Boot priority is set to UEFI firs

 

So, I,m intrusted is it possible to turn on/of both devices. I mean to put different OS on both and runnig that on on the enabled device. And swiching them again when want the anotrhr OS.

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,632
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 1,259
Message 2 of 7

Re: Z710 disable hard drive

Hi Irritated ,

 

 

Greetings. 

 

As far as i know the BIOS feature to disable under a hardware tab is not available for this models BIOS.

But since you had it on the DVD SATA , there may be offered option to do it.

 

 All you need is to change UEFI to legacy so that you may change Boot priority and set the machine instead to primarily boot on a particular drive, under exit tab you would be able to change OS optimization to the OS you want as initial boot. 

 

Ideally on a dual boot machine , within windows you can also change default boot if you open msconfig under boot tab to set default (option 3 ).

 

Then change timeout on the boot to make it faster . Doing this would allow you to have both drives active for data transfer and access at anytime instead of disabling then in the BIOS where you can no loner use the other drive.

 

Hope this answered your query.

Update us. 

 

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Irritated
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-27-2015
Location: Bulgaria
Views: 1,240
Message 3 of 7

Re: Z710 disable hard drive

Thanx

Sadly, but my initial idea was to use one Hard drive for working and another one for plaing assuming virus/scam/mallware protection mostly. Thats the reason I was looking for separating them and Using them "non"-simullteniusly.

 

Thanx again.

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,632
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 1,234
Message 4 of 7

Re: Z710 disable hard drive

Hi Irritated , 

 

Greetings.

 

So the objective is to have options on 2 bootable drive to switch (make one as work harddrive and other one as a crash harddrive) on a single machine.

 

The BIOS on this model is locked (harddrive : disable feature) not available and ODD disable as same.  Modded BIOS is not advise as it may risk bricking the laptop.

 

A work around to have both harddrive bootable and would not be communicating data on each is to unmount the harddrive within Windows using diskpart command.  Once drive is letter is removed then writing over it should not be possible not unlesss re mounted.

 

See if that works for you. 

 

Regards 



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Irritated
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-27-2015
Location: Bulgaria
Views: 1,228
Message 5 of 7

Re: Z710 disable hard drive

Thats sounds like as a realy decent option. thanks againt. Deffinitelly shall try it out.

tripplec
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,379
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: CA
Views: 1,224
Message 6 of 7

Re: Z710 disable hard drive

You don't need to disable a drive merely change which is the primary drive in bios. I had an HP notebook with dual HD's and it had a quick key in the bios screen list to switch drivers. Never see it anyware else before.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Irritated
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-27-2015
Location: Bulgaria
Views: 1,214
Message 7 of 7

Re: Z710 disable hard drive

When I do this, it ask me from wich to boot. And wnen load the another one is visble as an casual drive. W/e the Spidey's idea seems prety good

thanx for the cents Smiley Happy

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors