cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AdamK7
Paper Tape
Views: 619
Message 1 of 19

completely lost - Creating a recovery disc for IdeaPad Z580 (and OneKey Recovery)

Hello - please bear in mind that I am not technically proficient, but in fairness i don't think one should be. 

As the Lenovo doesn't come with a back-up or recovery disc, I obviously need to make up my own.  I thought that the OneKey recovery system would lead me through it (it says it's "easy-to-use"), but right away I'm confused:  what's the difference between "System Backup" and "System Recovery"?  I keep reading the blurb and I've read the "Help" file, but I'm not getting any closer to understanding  The System Backup seems to require 98.9 GB space, which obviously the hidden drive doesn't have.  I'd need a stack of DVD-Rs for this (I was kind of hoping two or three) or a whole new removable drive  -- does this seem right?  But, again, what am I looking for, a System Backup or a System Recovery?  On my old Acer, it used to lead you through this step by step and it was incredibly simple.  Now, it seems the only simple thing is me.  Any patient help would be much appreciated. 

Thanking in advance,

Adam K.

LenBlazer
Bit Torrent
Views: 596
Message 2 of 19

Re: completely lost - Creating a recovery disc for IdeaPad Z580 (and OneKey Recovery)

They are similar. One difference is that if the disk is defective you cant use OKR anymore. Thus you can't do any restoration yourself. You will have to send in your unit to Lenovo to have the disk replaced and your system restored to factory default.

You don't need a stack of DVD-Rs to save your backup ... System backup files can be saved in an external Hdd drive plus the creation of a Repair DVD disk for startup and restoration purposes.

AdamK7
Paper Tape
Views: 580
Message 3 of 19

Re: completely lost - Creating a recovery disc for IdeaPad Z580 (and OneKey Recovery)