cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
jihad
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-18-2010
Location: Poland
Views: 609
Message 1 of 5

dram frequency prob.

Hello

 

I have y560 (i5 430, 4gb(Elpida 1333mhz), hd5730) Lately I was curious and I checked my laptop performance. I run game and in backgrond CPU-Z/Everest. CPU OCed to 2527MHz ati also jumped with clocks all fine. Then I swith to Memory bookmark.

 

Here problem starts. Laptop FSBSmiley Very HappyRAM is 4:16 and ram works max with DRAM532MHz (1066) should with 667MHz (1333). So I checked ram labels and it is PC3-10600. I ran everest to check. Also shows it is 1333 ram. When I play any game/do anything ram never increase to 667mhz. Always stays at 532MHz (1066). Obvious is that I want it works with 1333MHz not with 1066. Why max ram speed reaches 1066 not 1333 ? How I can change this?

 

Also when I change power modes HighPerf/Balanced/PowerSavr only cpu multiplers change, FSB always stays the same 133mhz(never oc)

Vince69
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,213
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Views: 588
Message 2 of 5

Re: dram frequency prob.

Hello mate,

 

Are both of your RAM modules the same ?

As the computer support dual channel if there is one module slower it will slow the other one.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

jihad
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-18-2010
Location: Poland
Views: 581
Message 3 of 5

Re: dram frequency prob.

Both modules are the same. It is 2x2gb and they're in dual channel.

Vince69
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,213
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Views: 566
Message 4 of 5

Re: dram frequency prob.

Ok I found the answer,

The Intel Core i5-430m support DDR3 800 and 1066 not 1333. Your benchmark shows you the speed 1333 because the RAM is able to reach this speed but it limited by the motherboard.

 

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

jihad
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-18-2010
Location: Poland
Views: 559
Message 5 of 5

Re: dram frequency prob.

So why manufacturer sells such a stuff? How became happend I bought laptop i5 with 1333 ram? Laptop spec says it is 1333 and can't go to 1333? Why anyone think to put 1333 in it? I feel cheated. Next minus for Lenovo. Again misinformed and tricked.

 

I am disappointed ;(

 

Thank you Vince69 for help.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors