Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-10-2016
Location: italy
Message 1 of 5 (446 Views)

lenovo ideapad z500 hotkey

Dear Lenovo community,

 

I would like to change the HDD of my Lenovo z500 with a SSD. Moreover, since I have problem with the OS (win 8.1) I intend to format the PC and reinstall it. My question is: after the substitution of the HDD and the install of the new OS will I still be able to use the hotkeys (pc brightness, volume etc.) of my keyboard or have I to install some additional software or set them in the BIOS? Moreover, have I to install lenovo energy management (to control the battery) and the intel hd graphics drivers?

 

thanks for the attention

Support Specialist
Posts: 5,234
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Message 2 of 5 (409 Views)

Re: lenovo ideapad z500 hotkey

 

Hi mardix1982 , 

 

 

Welcome to the Community Forums. 

 

Would you still be able to boot to Windows on the original image ?

You may create a recovery image first that can be useful on the SSD change or even clone it after a factory restore (One Key recovery page 23) using the SSD software or other tools. 

 

Since there be no changes on the BIOS , hotkey features under configuration setting should stay enabled. 

All other drivers and power management tool such as Lenovo Energy Manager are available from the support site.  

 

You may also order purchasable Windows installer with drivers by calling technical support

 

Italian  1-997-51926 (Costo della chiamata: 11,88 centesimi di € al minuto + IVA)

9:00 - 18:00 Monday - Friday

 

Related articles and discussion: 

Hotkey Features Integration for Windows 10 (32-bit, 64-bit), 8.1 (64-bit), 8 (64-bit), 7 (32-bit, 64...

Windows 8.1 on Z510 Fn+ Function keys doesnt work and I dont see any Lenovo to make them work again

Ideapad z500 brightness can't increase

 

Update us how it goes.

 

 

Regards

 



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-10-2016
Location: italy
Message 3 of 5 (400 Views)

Re: lenovo ideapad z500 hotkey

Hi spidey101,

 

thanks for your quick and kind reply.

 

I have the possibility to clone my disc but I would prefer to install a new OS (win 10 pro), thus my concern is on maintaining some functionality of my lenovo, i.e., hotkeys and lenovo energy management. According to your message I can maintain them. Morever, my lenovo has 2 graphic card: 1) Intel HD graphics (integrated) and 2) NVIDIA gt635M. Will I maintain them or have I to reinstall after have installed the new OS?

 

thanks again for the attention

Bit Torrent
Posts: 5,330
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
Location: US
Message 4 of 5 (392 Views)

Re: lenovo ideapad z500 hotkey


mardix1982 wrote:

Dear Lenovo community,

 

I would like to change the HDD of my Lenovo z500 with a SSD. Moreover, since I have problem with the OS (win 8.1) I intend to format the PC and reinstall it. My question is: after the substitution of the HDD and the install of the new OS will I still be able to use the hotkeys (pc brightness, volume etc.) of my keyboard or have I to install some additional software or set them in the BIOS? Moreover, have I to install lenovo energy management (to control the battery) and the intel hd graphics drivers?

 

thanks for the attention


The only thing that you will have a problem is the NOVO button needed to start ONEKEY and ONEKEY itself no longer working.

Support Specialist
Posts: 5,234
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Message 5 of 5 (389 Views)

Re: lenovo ideapad z500 hotkey

Hi mardix1982 ,

 

Greetings. 

 

Now that you mentioned or a possible Win10 pro , Z500 is not tested compatible for Win 10. Functionality of the hotkeys may not be functional , it also does share some function with the Energy management software too . 

 

What I would suggest if you have a spare harddrive to work on is swap and fresh install on it just like a retail version for full functionality and testing instead . No need to activate for now and skip activation during install. 

 

For the graphic cards and other drivers, support site do not offer available drivers for Win10 so it would be chceking directly on specific manufacturer website for Win10 compatible drivers if the innate Windows 10 drivers from Microsoft is not available. 

 

Try it first on a test harddrive before deciding on a clean installation.

Update us on what works best for you. 

 

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Top kudoed Authors