Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

2651 Posts

03-21-2012

Malaysia

2405 Signins

55976 Page Views

  • Posts: 2651
  • Registered: ‎03-21-2012
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 55976
  • Message 11 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-19, 1:50 AM

Hi all,

thanks for posting.Was reading through your post and am really soory to hear about these issue happening to a number of you. I too have a Y500 and am running win8 on it. Though I must admit I have not faced this particular issue and seeing that there are a number of you reporting thisI'd like to work with you on this and see where I can assist.

There a few Questions I'd like to go through to narrow down the issue.

1) Which Operating system are you running on your machine?
2) What is the Wireless card and driver version you have on your machine?
3) What type of router do you currently have and what is the firmware of the router?
4) Do this happen when connected to AC or battery only?
5) Does it get connected to other Wifi such as (eg : Cafe Wifi, Neighbour, Office, School,etc..) or is it your home router that's affected?

Sorry for the list of questions. But need to narrow down the issue.

Regards

Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-24-2013

United States

9 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-24-2013
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 10
  • Message 12 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-25, 0:34 AM

Man, you really have to jump through some hoops to make a simple post on this website.

 

Anyhoo, yes, I did this same thing and it worked for me.  Thanks for the post.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

06-27-2013

Canada

10 Signins

81 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 81
  • Message 13 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 3:52 AM

Just got my Y500 today.

 

When I finished the Windows 8 Installation, I was able to connect perfectly via Wi-Fi (Security type WPA-PSK, TKIP encryption). I installed a few programs, walked away, and when I came to, I lost my connection. At the time I didn't know what the problem was, so I tried all the default diagnostic troubleshooting.

 

I kept coming up with a limited access issue. I had no idea what was wrong at the time so I tried to renew my ip via ipconfig commands, which ended up in error messages. I then tried to reset my TCP/IP stack by using the netsh command and that didn't work.

 

I have done 2 factory resets hoping to somehow resolve the issue and I find myself here trying to look for a solution. I'm tired right now as I've been troubleshooting for hours and would like to know what my most likely solution is to the problem (probably has to do with power). It continues to give me the connection is limited problem.

 

Tomorrow I plan to follow through with some of the solutions listed in the thread, but I'd also like some insight maybe as to what I my specific problem might be.

Reply
Options

5402 Posts

05-09-2013

United States of America

6273 Signins

19373 Page Views

  • Posts: 5402
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 19373
  • Message 14 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 5:56 AM

wrote:

Just got my Y500 today.

 

When I finished the Windows 8 Installation, I was able to connect perfectly via Wi-Fi (Security type WPA-PSK, TKIP encryption). I installed a few programs, walked away, and when I came to, I lost my connection. At the time I didn't know what the problem was, so I tried all the default diagnostic troubleshooting.

 

I kept coming up with a limited access issue. I had no idea what was wrong at the time so I tried to renew my ip via ipconfig commands, which ended up in error messages. I then tried to reset my TCP/IP stack by using the netsh command and that didn't work.

 

I have done 2 factory resets hoping to somehow resolve the issue and I find myself here trying to look for a solution. I'm tired right now as I've been troubleshooting for hours and would like to know what my most likely solution is to the problem (probably has to do with power). It continues to give me the connection is limited problem.

 

Tomorrow I plan to follow through with some of the solutions listed in the thread, but I'd also like some insight maybe as to what I my specific problem might be.


Intel suggest that the security of your router and wifi card be set to WPA2/AES.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

06-27-2013

Canada

10 Signins

81 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 81
  • Message 15 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 12:30 PM

Well, when I run the Windows Network Diagnostics, at the end of the troubleshooting process it tells me that the:

 

"Wi-Fi" doesn't have a valid IP configuration.

 

Should i change my router settings? or is there something I can do to my ip?

 

 

Reply
Options

5402 Posts

05-09-2013

United States of America

6273 Signins

19373 Page Views

  • Posts: 5402
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 19373
  • Message 16 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 13:46 PM

wrote:

Well, when I run the Windows Network Diagnostics, at the end of the troubleshooting process it tells me that the:

 

"Wi-Fi" doesn't have a valid IP configuration.

 

Should i change my router settings? or is there something I can do to my ip?

 

 


It is the router that assigns the address, so you should check your router's settings. Also try to removed any third party AV program and just use the internal AV program of windows. Regarding this problem, you can google "invalid ip configuration" and read the links. There are many that have this problem you will learn later.

It is also possible that your router is incompatible. So try reading those links provided by google.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

05-30-2013

West

17 Signins

92 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎05-30-2013
  • Location: West
  • Views: 92
  • Message 17 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 15:00 PM
IF you find an answer, please LMK i haven't found anything yet.
Reply
Options

13 Posts

05-30-2013

West

17 Signins

92 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎05-30-2013
  • Location: West
  • Views: 92
  • Message 18 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 15:02 PM


1) Which Operating system are you running on your machine?
2) What is the Wireless card and driver version you have on your machine?
3) What type of router do you currently have and what is the firmware of the router?
4) Do this happen when connected to AC or battery only?
5) Does it get connected to other Wifi such as (eg : Cafe Wifi, Neighbour, Office, School,etc..) or is it your home router that's affected?

 

I will answer these tonight!!!!!!!!!

Reply
Options

9 Posts

06-27-2013

Canada

10 Signins

81 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 81
  • Message 19 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 15:34 PM

wrote:


1) Which Operating system are you running on your machine?
2) What is the Wireless card and driver version you have on your machine?
3) What type of router do you currently have and what is the firmware of the router?
4) Do this happen when connected to AC or battery only?
5) Does it get connected to other Wifi such as (eg : Cafe Wifi, Neighbour, Office, School,etc..) or is it your home router that's affected?

 

I will answer these tonight!!!!!!!!!


1) Windows 8

2) Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 2230 | Driver Version: 15.5.5.47

3) D-Link DIR-615 |  Firmware: 3.10NA

4) Both

5) I'm going to venture up to an institution tomorrow that uses WPA-Enterprise connection and see if it works there.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

06-27-2013

Canada

10 Signins

81 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 81
  • Message 20 of 51

Re: lenovo y500 wi-fi serious problem

2013-06-27, 15:41 PM

After fiddling around with the wireless...

 

It seems that if i changed the cypher type to AES encryption, the wireless does work. Hopefully this fixes my problem forever.

 

For those who have similar issues and might maybe get help out of this, my wireless settings is as follows:

 

Channel width: auto 20/40 MHz

802.11 mode: n, g, & b

WPA mode: Auto (WPA or WPA2)

Cypher type: AES

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms