English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

22 Posts

08-11-2009

Manila

23 Signins

167 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2009
  • Location: Manila
  • Views: 167
  • Message 1 of 9

upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-18, 9:25 AM
Hi Guys, I'm currently trying to upgrade my Y430's T6600 proc to a P9500 as it supports vt-x. Its basically the same architecture and socket. I have successfully made it boot once but most of the time, it just powers up and does nothing. any suggestions? Hopefully someone with the same upgrading experience can help. thanks!
Reply
Options

2126 Posts

07-14-2009

USA

4807 Signins

93056 Page Views

  • Posts: 2126
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 93056
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-18, 13:19 PM

Post which chipset you have.

 

P9500 may not be supported by the BIOS and/or

chipset, even though same socket.

 

Be sure to have the latest bios update installed

first, in case cpu support for it was added somewhere

along the line. Check bios version in bios setup.

Newest is 60.

 

http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/us/en/DriversDownloads/drivers_show_1413.html#

 

Read bios upgrade instructions carefully to avoid problems.

 

Recently had the same happen, different laptop and cpu,

but same results! Boot and shutdown. CPU not supported.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

08-11-2009

Manila

23 Signins

167 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2009
  • Location: Manila
  • Views: 167
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-18, 14:08 PM

thanks!

 

CPU-Z states the chipset is PM45. Which according to this:

 

http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_%28chipsets%29/PM45_Express.html

 

is compatible and it did boot once with the proc installed and did WEI numbers. after a restart then it doesnt boot anymore.

 

yup i confirm the bios is 0BCN60WW

 

we tried the following as well.. T9600, P9700... still no dice. blank screen no boot.

 

brought back the t6600 and it was fine again. The only diff i can see here is that t6600 has 800fsb and the rest have 1066. 

 

How did you fix the problem?

Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

CZ

9005 Signins

170423 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: CZ
  • Views: 170423
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-18, 14:47 PM

even if you succeed upgrading chipset, your bios may not support vt-x.
are you sure that if the new cpu is defective?


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

22 Posts

08-11-2009

Manila

23 Signins

167 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2009
  • Location: Manila
  • Views: 167
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-18, 15:12 PM

chipset - no dont think so since if you use the original t6600 with it its fine.

the new p9500 ... could be defective.. but i was told this was from a tested system, but even testing the other 2 procs, i dont think the chance of all of them being defecive is slim.

 

yeah i heard about the vt-x setting for the bios. I plan to do that once i get it stable. It should boot at least right?

Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

CZ

9005 Signins

170423 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: CZ
  • Views: 170423
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-18, 16:05 PM
yes. it should. but maybe there's bios limitation for that cpu.
do you see lenovo logo at start-up at least?

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

2126 Posts

07-14-2009

USA

4807 Signins

93056 Page Views

  • Posts: 2126
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 93056
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-18, 16:48 PM

"How did you fix the problem?"

 

I didn't. Just found a different cpu.

 

What about your laptop memory?

Speed, etc.

 

I still think it is just a bios limitation.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

08-11-2009

Manila

23 Signins

167 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2009
  • Location: Manila
  • Views: 167
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-19, 22:23 PM

Ah yes i did, it did boot to win 7 and i successfully run windows experience index for it before restarting. After the restart, it doesn't work anymore. just a blank screen but all panel lights are on.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

08-11-2009

Manila

23 Signins

167 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2009
  • Location: Manila
  • Views: 167
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: upgrading my t6600 y430 to P9500 no post

2011-07-19, 22:29 PM

here's the memory part of cpu-z. I have 8gb (2x4gb) of 1066mhz ddr3 ram.

 

Memory SPD
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

DIMM #                1
    SMBus address        0x50
    Memory type        DDR3
    Module format        SO-DIMM
    Manufacturer (ID)    Corsair (7F7F9E0000000000)
    Size            4096 MBytes
    Max bandwidth        PC3-8500F (533 MHz)
    Part number        CM3[4GSD1066     
    Manufacturing date    Week 30/Year 10
    Number of banks        8
    Nominal Voltage        1.50 Volts
    EPP            no
    XMP            no
JEDEC timings table        CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
    JEDEC #1        6.0-6-6-18-24 @ 457 MHz
    JEDEC #2        7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz
    JEDEC #3        8.0-8-8-23-31 @ 609 MHz

DIMM #                2
    SMBus address        0x52
    Memory type        DDR3
    Module format        SO-DIMM
    Manufacturer (ID)    Corsair (7F7F9E0000000000)
    Size            4096 MBytes
    Max bandwidth        PC3-8500F (533 MHz)
    Part number        CM3[4GSD1066     
    Manufacturing date    Week 30/Year 10
    Number of banks        8
    Nominal Voltage        1.50 Volts
    EPP            no
    XMP            no
JEDEC timings table        CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
    JEDEC #1        6.0-6-6-18-24 @ 457 MHz
    JEDEC #2        7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz
    JEDEC #3        8.0-8-8-23-31 @ 609 MHz

 

Here's the proc info for the T6600

 

Processor 1            ID = 0
    Number of cores        2 (max 2)
    Number of threads    2 (max 2)
    Name            Intel Mobile Core 2 Duo T6600
    Codename        Penryn
    Specification        Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T6600  @ 2.20GHz
    Package (platform ID)    Socket P (478) (0x7)
    CPUID            6.7.A
    Extended CPUID        6.17
    Core Stepping        R0
    Technology        45 nm
    Core Speed        1197.0 MHz
    Multiplier x FSB    6.0 x 199.5 MHz
    Rated Bus speed        798.0 MHz
    Stock frequency        2200 MHz
    Instructions sets    MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, EM64T
    L1 Data cache        2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache    2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache        2048 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    FID/VID Control        yes
    FID range        6.0x - 11.0x
    Max VID            1.150 V


 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save