cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Guru
Posts: 796
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: AU
Views: 2,308
Message 11 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Oficially it's not supported. Practically it should work. The question is: do you need 16GB of RAM? Unless you do some RAM-heavy work like rendering, virtualisation, etc., 8GB will be enough for a long time. Also, note that with two identical RAM sticks you get dual-channel memory across all available memory. Dual channel means increase in transfer rate of RAM.

====================================
I'm an INsider - not a Lenovo employee.
You can find me in gaming, Ideapad and Thinkpad forums most of the time.
Ismail_509
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎01-08-2014
Location: Hyderabad, India
Views: 2,302
Message 12 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

HI..

 

I bought the Z 520 wiht 4 GB and then added 8 GB of RAM , so total of 12 GB RAM.. and its working good..

 

 

 

Regards,

Ismail Sharif.

 

ttl7
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Location: Malaysia
Views: 2,294
Message 13 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Thank you Shiv_k. That cleared my doubt.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 2,826
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
Location: Bangalore
Views: 2,282
Message 14 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Hi Ismail,

 

As informed earlier RAM upgrade capacity depends on the variant of Z520 or any other laptop.

 

Do post us back for further queries.

 

Best Regards

Shiva Kumar



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 2,826
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
Location: Bangalore
Views: 2,280
Message 15 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Hi Ttl7,

 

I hope your query has been answered. Please feel free to post in Lenovo Community Forums if you have any further queries!

 

Cheers!Smiley Happy

 

Shiva Kumar



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

ttl7
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Location: Malaysia
Views: 2,246
Message 16 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Hi,  I plan to buy this unit and want to add 4GB ram.  May I know the process of adding RAM to slot?

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 2,826
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
Location: Bangalore
Views: 2,236
Message 17 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Hi Ttl7,

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community Forums!

 

To upgrade RAM/Memory is not recommended for the end user as Base cover and many other parts should be removed to access the RAM slots, below is the link to download the HMM (Hardware Maintenance Manual) for the computer and refer page no. 50 for the steps.

 

However, I would strongly suggest you to contact our Technical Support for further Assistance to get the details of the nearest Authorized Service Center to get the RAM upgraded.

 

Click here to open a link where you can select the country and get the exact contact support number. I’m sure they will be a great help. Please let me know the findings after the issue is resolved.

 

Do post us back for further queries.

 

Best Regards

Shiva Kumar



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

kyubii
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-05-2014
Views: 1,795
Message 18 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Hi, sorry to bother you guys. I already bought ram for my Lenovo Z510 but didn't install it yet. If I bring it to the service centre, does it charge me if I ask to install the ram? Any reply will be highly appreciated.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 2,826
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
Location: Bangalore
Views: 1,778
Message 19 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Hi Kyubii,

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community!

 

Yes, upgrading the RAM will be under charged in the Service Center. However, I would suggest you to perform the RAM upgrade as the steps are provided in HMM in the above link in previous reply.

 

Do post us back for further queries.

 

Best Regards

Shiva Kumar



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

kyubii
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-05-2014
Views: 1,763
Message 20 of 59

Re: z510 ram upgrade to 8gb

Thank you for the reply. The process seems a bit complicated so I probably just send it to the service centre. Haha.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors