English Community

Smart HomeLenovo Smart Display & Lenovo Smart Clock with Google Assistant
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

09-29-2019

AU

7 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-29-2019
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 35
  • Message 41 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-29, 6:55 AM

Purchased Smart Display today and am experiencing same issue. Any chance this has been fixed or there is an ETA of fix. Just don’t want to be sitting here watching it get to 45% and return to zero anymore. Have tried all the recommendations of previous posters as well. 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-29-2019

AU

4 Signins

45 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-29-2019
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 45
  • Message 42 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-29, 7:14 AM

Same issue. Gone through all suggested fixes, no luck.

 

Edit: Left updating for 10+ hours and no change. Disappointed in the lack of assistance thats being offered. Will be returning the product and advising others away from purchasing.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

09-29-2019

AU

2 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-29-2019
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 23
  • Message 43 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-29, 13:11 PM

Another disappointed customer. 

 

Took the 10" as a birthday present. Tried to setup and failed. Update loop.. 

 

We tried calling into the Smart Display through Duo. The call rings but doesn't connect. "Something went wrong. Try again after some time" 

 

Details:

Brand new Lenovo Smart Display 10" from JB Hifi

Wifi Network on Google Wifi routers

2 different iPhones used to attempt to setup

3 Factory Resets

No success. 

Initial loop was at 40%

Now looping at 45%

Reply
Options

1 Posts

09-29-2019

US

1 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-29-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 15
  • Message 44 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-29, 16:02 PM

Had the same problem yesterday. It would stop updating at 67% and go back to 0%.

I turned it off, removed it from Google Home app. This morning I restarted it with the 2 buttons for volume up and down pressed and it booted perfectly and asked me to link it to my home.

I prudently added it as Dining room instead of Kitchen as it was, just in case.

It is now working perfectly.

Hope this helps.

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-30-2019

US

3 Signins

13 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 13
  • Message 45 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-30, 2:11 AM

My father and I just opened two brand new devices today and are having the same issue on both.   I looked on twitter and found the following response from Lenovo team in regards to two tweets about having the same issues:

 

" We really apologize for the trouble. This issue was caused by the recent update and we are aware of it. Google is currently looking at it. We are waiting for the updates. Thanks. Arjay_Lenovo"


and

 

"Thanks for reaching out. This issue has been handled already by our Software Team. Please buried us while we're working on this issue and updates will be posted online once this was resolved. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Van_Lenovo"

 

here's to hoping it gets fixed soon and we get the answers on how to correct it

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-30-2019

US

2 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40
  • Message 46 of 81

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 2:15 AM

Add another one to the list. I purchased mine a couple of weeks ago. Had not had time to setup until today only to get stuck at 45% during update. Tried 5.8 and 2.4G networks. Factory reset, 5 ft away from router, changed device name, etc. Shouldn't be this difficult. Is this from a defective batch? What solution will Lenovo offer us?

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-30-2019

US

2 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40
  • Message 47 of 81

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 2:32 AM

Update2 after getting it to work as described below. Tried another approach. I renamed unit then went to settings on Home App\forget network then  configured again. Unit not discovered due to having custom name I think. Did factory reset. Chose room "Office" and stayed on first NEXT screen button in setup 7ntil update downloaded. I didn't go thru all the choices until after Update. Works well now and has latest firmware. Top slide-down menu is there. 

Update1.... Thought I would give it one last try: assigned it to. "new" home called "test home" Went thru setup and it configured all the way thru to the end EXCEPT there was no "update" download this time and looks like display is on OLD firmware. I can't access settings by swiping down as in my 7" display. Just read Update is done automatically. Pushed at whatever time the service deems necessary I guess.

Side note In my ""Home" I have Nest doorbell, Google hub 7" display, and mini speaker. Hope it updates by itself to latest firmware build. Maybe these step will help someone while Lenovo\Google fix the issue

Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-30-2019

CA

4 Signins

62 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 62
  • Message 48 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-30, 3:04 AM

same issue. Purchased my 10" smart display about 6 hours ago, and it's been updating ever since. I must have reset the machine to default settings about 20 times now. I've tried every configuration of setup settings with no luck at all. I really wanted this over the Google Home Hub, but if it's still updating in the morning it'll be going back to bestbuy for an exchange. Please figure out a fix soon, I actually want this product!

Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-28-2019

US

12 Signins

46 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 46
  • Message 49 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-30, 3:14 AM

After updating all day it randomly completed and started working.  Works great now with 0 problems. 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-30-2019

US

3 Signins

13 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 13
  • Message 50 of 81

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-30, 3:16 AM

As of 11:14pm EST mine updated finally and is working.  It said network error once.  I unplugged it. Plugged it back in. Let it do it's update thing. And after so long I heard it talking and looked and it was finished.  Here's hoping the rest of them start working too 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save