Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit our eSupport here.

English Community

Smart HomeLenovo Smart Display & Lenovo Smart Clock with Google Assistant
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

05-03-2016

United States of America

11 Signins

131 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎05-03-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 131
  • Message 51 of 92

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-30, 3:29 AM

I just now tried again using my phone as a hotspot as another poster had suggested. I set up a new Home,used Backyard as the room. And finally the update finished. Hopefully this mess will soon be a distant memory.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-30-2019

Canada

4 Signins

62 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 62
  • Message 52 of 92

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 4:42 AM

Mine is finally working after about 8 hours, but now seems to be on a software version that is over a year old. Hopefully it gets an update as there is no way to force an update.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-30-2019

Australia

8 Signins

53 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 53
  • Message 53 of 92

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 8:13 AM
I too have this problem. I have tried setting up from mu tablet and phone, tried restoring factory settings using volume keys. All to no avail.
Please help!
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-30-2019

Australia

8 Signins

53 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 53
  • Message 54 of 92

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 8:20 AM
I have this exact issue... have you managed to get it setup?
Reply
Options

21 Posts

02-18-2015

Canada

5 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎02-18-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 43
  • Message 55 of 92

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 8:27 AM

After being plugged in for 3 days and bootlooping this morning it finaly finished and is working for us.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-26-2019

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

15 Signins

75 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-26-2019
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 75
  • Message 56 of 92

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-30, 8:41 AM
After mine worked with the steps I posted above, the pull down from top wasn't working at all. Felt like there is no such functionality. I suspected that it might have been removed in the latest update. But I unplugged and plugged it back in and the pull down started working.

Right now mine is in full working condition.

Try setting up without choosing in any options during setup, just skip all options. You can always choose those options after the device is setup.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-30-2019

Australia

8 Signins

53 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 53
  • Message 57 of 92

Re: Non stop update reboot loop

2019-09-30, 8:43 AM
Ok, I'll give it a shot! Thanks.
Reply
Options

5468 Posts

04-19-2012

Slovakia

7964 Signins

305814 Page Views

  • Posts: 5468
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2012
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 305814
  • Message 58 of 92

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 8:43 AM

Just checking in with you guys to let you know that the issue has been classified as top priority and Google are on it. For the time being the only course of action is to wait for the team to roll out a fix, I apologize about the inconvenience and hope that this is sorted out as soon as possible.

 

Please make sure to leave your device plugged in and to avoid resetting or unplugging as this might delay incoming fix.

 

For those whose device got out of the loop, I kindly encourage you to please send feedback from the device using #Update Loop


Miguel Gonzalez

EMEA Consumer Technical Trainer
Lenovo Slovakia

Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-30-2019

Australia

8 Signins

53 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 53
  • Message 59 of 92

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 8:53 AM
Thanks, I'll keep an eye out for a fix!
Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-30-2019

Canada

4 Signins

62 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2019
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 62
  • Message 60 of 92

Re: Smart display stuck in update loop

2019-09-30, 15:11 PM

I was able to get mine working by following the steps of an above user. I set up a fresh new "test" home, and then set it to be in the bedroom. I did not turn on duo, and I used the clock face as the ambient display. It looked as if it was going to continue update looping again, but after about 30-45 mins it was working. Unfortunately after it started up, it was running a firmware over a year old and did not support pull down. Hesitantly I decided to factory reset the device again to try and force an update... My friends, I now have a working smart display, and it's up to date after the reset.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms