cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
pete_p
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
Location: Germany
Views: 16,274
Message 11 of 37

Re: Guide to Create Recovery Media (not OneKey) for a Lenovo Ideapad S10

for a not so easy and uncomfortable free opensource alternative for backups i use clonezilla. works well, can save and restore mbr. linux-knowledge is good, since its rather easy to delete your data or make the hdd unbootable if you don't know what you are doing.

can be run from usb with unetbootin.

forumsviewer
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-03-2009
Location: US
Views: 15,439
Message 12 of 37

Re: Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

I get an error saying that it cannot find any hard drives.  S10-2 following the guide with nlite.

 

It boots into XP Home Edition Setup and says "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer."

 

Are there some SATA drivers or something that need to be put in the image from nlite?

Message Edited by forumsviewer on 07-05-2009 01:39 PM
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 2,375
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Location: DE
Views: 15,428
Message 13 of 37

Re: Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

Hi, did you integrated ServicePack 3 ? 

thats fundamental

here XP SP3 network install 

 

here Intel Chipset extract this driver , use folder all (SATA,USB 2.0... ) ... and integrate with nlite..

 

sincerely KalvinKlein.

 

 

Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Claymore
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-04-2009
Location: Caracas Venezuela
Views: 15,142
Message 14 of 37

Re: Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

Hi, I have just instaled win7 RC on my S10e, and now, as many of us realized that the recovery to the original set button does not works. I´am shure that the partition whith recovery files on my HD was not formatted and the data is still there.

This partition is hidden and can´t be seen by windows 7. Please are there any way to activate the recovery software directly form that hidden partition? Any clue? I need to restore XP again .... thanks

spiritedguy
Token Ring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Views: 15,089
Message 15 of 37

Re: Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

I'm using Acronis boot disk to restore my image from the DVD's I made.

 

BUT Acronis won't see the same stupid DVD drive it booted off of, to use the disks. I can only see USB drives and HDD. ARRGH

 

How can I make it see this drive when browsing for my backup.

fundee
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Location: Indonesia
Views: 14,727
Message 16 of 37

Re: Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

i was try factory restore from onekey recovery button, but process not responding about 1 hour and i push the power button to turn off. but my lenovo s10 can't boot after this process. so, i'm running CD Recovery that i made before.

the problem is.. i can't use the onekey recovery button from power off state. thats button just like the button power, turn on the lenovo s10 and run the windows, not Lenovo OneKey Recovery..

After i cancel the factory restore, the hidden partition become E: drive.

How can i turn back to default setting or factory restore and activated the OKR button from off state..??

 

(sorry with my language)

goodgenie4u
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-23-2009
Location: Toronto
Views: 14,492
Message 17 of 37

Re: Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

I came to this forum for help as I am not a computer expert, but am capable of step by step instructions.

Like others (more so me) I am very concerned that if anything goes wrong, the ability to restore my S10e is not reliably there, except for the restore button. Without a back up it scares me. Something more dependable like a Hard disk image on a DVD seems more dependable.?

 

I have a network at home with a Vista ThinkpadT61 and a Vista Premium  HP mediacentre desktop running off a Linksys 160N router. Is there some way I can get the S10e XP plus Acronis and use the burner of the HP desktop to burn an image of the S10e hard drive; OS, drivers, Apps. I can back up the files separately. I also have an 8 GIG Sandisk Extreme USB and 30 GIG old and bulk external drive.

 

I'm going backpacking for 2 months in SE Asia. It would be cheaper and much quicker to replace the HD if I had an image. I could rent /borrow an external burner and it would be hopefully flawless and automatic even if it takes some time.

 

 I should mention that I tried using the S10e to access the HP burner (sharing feature) over the home network, but I keep getting rejected as not being authorised to do this. Clearly I have not figured out the nuances in user levels and sharing. If I could get this right, I might have the first step behind me. Also any smarter solution with the existing gear I have will be appreciated. ( I'm 63 and retired, so every penny must have worth, my time is cheap!)

 

Thanks

 

 

krogsbell
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-04-2009
Location: Nivå, Denmark
Views: 14,602
Message 18 of 37

Re: Guide to Create Recovery Media (not OneKey) for a Lenovo Ideapad S10

Hi Jane!

 

How did you get a mouse as avatar?

 

Regards,

 

Hans

Highlighted
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 2,375
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Location: DE
Views: 14,586
Message 19 of 37

Re: Guide to Create Recovery Media (not OneKey) for a Lenovo Ideapad S10

Hi

you have all things you need to backup...
acronis trueimage version 11 or 2009 (different re-managed menue but does same) ?
8 GB USB Stick .. 30 GB ext. HDD ...
First .. there are 2 ways backup or clone drive ..
... clone drive you need same size of hdd or greater ..

i do this way for the first time ... but fresh factory drive (in my 160GB)
 uses preload (big part 145 GB used 8 GB and part recovery 4 GB)
so most is empty space... why copy unused space... could be smaller Smiley Happy

so i try to backup the whole factory fresh harddisk...first on external usb-hdd..
resulting the whole HDD as backupfile (Trueimage compressed to the half) uses 7,6 GB
...that backupfile fits on 8GB USB Stick Smiley Happy

If you prepared 8 GB flashdisk as trueimage can produce..
... bootable rescue media usb device ...

 you can easy boot truimage via usb-stick and with created backup file on ...
 you have the smallest recover solution..its all on one stick
no CD or HDD needed...

First use HP USB Storage Format Tool
Download here :

HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool


to make USB Device Bootable...

Start Computer where TI is installed...
 to make a Rescue Media
Start TI ..click Create Bootable Rescue Media on the Sidebar,
or select Create Bootable Rescue Media from the Tools menu.

 

Select which components of Acronis programs (Full Version) you want..

 

 

you want to place on the bootable media.. ...

 

 

select removable device...

 

 

written on stick...43.26 MB ... so enough space for backup... Smiley Happy

 

 

 TI create the media...

 

Good choice at this point...
Check if bootable Device will really boot on S10(e)
...cause some bootable devices will not boot .. Smiley Happy
-----------
Be sure that S10(e) BIOS is prepared to boot from USB HDD...
if not do this at start press F2 to go in BIOS
set Fn-F7 numpad on tab to Boot ...
with plus + (plus + left on right SHIFT key is active )
move USB via + and - so the result shown like this....
1: USB CD Drive
2: USB HDD
3: HDD WD ....
4.... 

-----> F10 Save and Exit to save setting

  

Plug prepared Rescue Media in one USB port...
start S9/10(e)/-2  ...on the screen should appear Acronis is loading after a second ...
when this happen... all things going well... you are ready to backup...
loading is complete when you get this ...:

 

select backup....

choose backup will start the Backup Wizard

next....

next> select what you want to back up Disk & partitions

 

be sure that you check the whole Disk 1 on the upper left side thats important !

 

 

 

next >

 

next --select  where backup will taken place 

! Note : When booted with flashdrive it will get letter A: !

 

i will save for the first try to external drive given name S10Full...

 

next> will start backup..... depends on which media you save ...used time 10-30 Mins....

 

Thats it....

backup is now on a stamp sized media Smiley Happy that can travel with you Smiley Happy 

 

the restore will same vice versa with a few steps (no pics)....

simply plug in and boot TI ... choose restore... locate backup file

My Computer--> Removable Drive A:-->S10Full-->

next-->Restore Disks or Partitions next-->Check Disk1 next-->

No, i do not resize next-->click Disk1  next--->

yes, I want to delete all next-->no next-->next-->proceed    

 

 

sincerely KalvinKlein

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Want more ? For further information to get the most of your S-Class machine

 

Lenovo Energymanagement 

 

Backup

 

Windows 7 Driver 

 

Windows 7  Install

 

Clean XP Install

 

XP Startup

 

Small WebCam Guide

 

Lenovo Easy Capture

 

Resolution > 1024 x 576 / 600  Works with XP Only For Windows 7 Alternate driver section

 

Updated contribution hardcopy-pics/Add/correct/ info links  09-19-2009/01-30-2010

 

By the way... Easeus To Do Backup will do same way.

the difference is, u need a CD Drive to boot the rescue media program , todobackup integration with BartPE and

install on a USB-Stick

& minimum a 16GB USB Flashdrive / HDD for the backupfile ...& more time ... but its free... 

Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
gascolator
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: Doylestown
Views: 13,535
Message 20 of 37

Re: Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

On the S10-2...

 

I tried integrating the All Intel Chipset using nLite...it increased the size of the image, so it must have "taken."

But the bootable still doesn't find the hard drive--- the old trick of using an OEM drive disk looks for a

floppy, so that doesn't work, either.

 

Image info indicates that the i386 directory is already SP3.

 

Any other ideas to get the hard drive recognized?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors