Did you mean: 
SimonNWalker
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 38,925
Message 1 of 37

Guide - Create Recovery Media for an Ideapad S10

Creating Recovery Media for a Lenovo Ideapad S10

** DISCLAIMER **
Firstly I have to say that all the steps listed in this guide worked for me but I can offer no guarantee that it will work for you.
I have the Ideadpad S10 with 160GB HD.  This the only S10 I have performed this process on.
I also refer to another guide that is key to creating your own Windows XP media.  This guide may get changed by someone else but it worked for me at the time I used it.  I have no control over that guide.

** IMPORTANT **
The first and most important step to perform is the creation of the Recovery Disks using your OneKey Recovery software.
This will always allow you to restore your OS partition of your S10

History:
When I first received my S10 I started playing around with different operating systems to see what would work best on it.  After playing around for a few weeks I decided I wanted to restore my factory configuration and start from scratch.

My first mistake was to delete all my partitions thinking that the recovery disks would re-create everything required.  It is now very clear to me that the OneKey system installed on the S10 is a joke and whoever came up with that idea should placed against a wall and shot.

If you want to do any changes to your drive partitions or upgrade to a new HD then the recovery disks you have created are almost useless, but not quite as you will find out soon.

There is never any way to get your OneKey hardware key to recover after making these types of changes without returning your S10 back to Lenovo and getting them to restore your HD.

So the Term "Restore your Factory Configuration" in the OneKey software is totally misleading.

Restoring back your Factory Configuration is NOT possible unless you have made no changes to your HD partitions at all.