English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo U and S Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

84 Posts

03-30-2009

Cairo, Egypt

1155 Signins

4907 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎03-30-2009
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Views: 4907
  • Message 11 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-03-31, 18:08 PM
using a keylogger, i found that the okr key is a combination of one/some unidentified keys and F8, so you can map it as a shortcut in any program. for example, i use it as a shortcut to show/hide yahoo widgets.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T / 2xATI HD5770 CF / 8GB DDR3 / 4x500GB RAID-5 / Win 7 Ultimate x64
Lenovo S10e Black / 2GB DDR2 / 160GB HDD / 6-cell battery / Win 7 Ultimate x86
Motorola Xoom
Reply
Options

15 Posts

12-21-2008

USA

20 Signins

100 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 100
  • Message 12 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-07-06, 4:20 AM

The easiest solution:

Uninstall OneKey Recovery on your S10, download KeyTWEAK at http://webpages.charter.net/krumsick/ and use it to remap your OKR - I just did it on my S10 and it works excellent, have the OneKey now to mute my system since the S10 has no MUTE Button on default. :-)

 

Here a short description on HOW TO do it with KeyTWEAK:

 

  1. Once you've removed the OneKey Recovery software and you started KeyTWEAK after installation, click in KeyTWEAK on HALF TEACH MODE, then in the new Window click on SCAN A SINGLE KEY.
  2. Now Press the OKR, you should see as SCAN CODE "66"
  3. Select an option in the dropdown list below, for example MUTE
  4. Click on REMAP
  5. Click in APPLY on the bottom right - you computer needs to restart
  6. Done!

 

I hope that helps someone?

Message Edited by Junner2003 on 07-05-2009 09:26 PM
Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-18-2009

Singapore

1 Signins

7 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2009
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 7
  • Message 13 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-18, 14:02 PM

Thanks for that, Junner2003... will try it soon. :)

Getting rid of OKR and just sticking to good old Acronis True Image.

Reply
Options

84 Posts

03-30-2009

Cairo, Egypt

1155 Signins

4907 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎03-30-2009
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Views: 4907
  • Message 14 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-20, 15:28 PM

keep in mind that this also remaps the F8 key..

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T / 2xATI HD5770 CF / 8GB DDR3 / 4x500GB RAID-5 / Win 7 Ultimate x64
Lenovo S10e Black / 2GB DDR2 / 160GB HDD / 6-cell battery / Win 7 Ultimate x86
Motorola Xoom
Reply
Options

15 Posts

12-21-2008

USA

20 Signins

100 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 100
  • Message 15 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-20, 15:35 PM

Nonsense! It won't remap your F8 KEY unless you want it to!

The remapping of the keys works only under WINDOWS, nothing else will be affected. I am using this since ages now, so, I guess I know what I am talking about. :smileyvery-happy:

Reply
Options

84 Posts

03-30-2009

Cairo, Egypt

1155 Signins

4907 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎03-30-2009
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Views: 4907
  • Message 16 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-20, 15:49 PM

maybe its the S10e only that has this symptom.. when i map the okr key, F8 is automatically remapped with it..

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T / 2xATI HD5770 CF / 8GB DDR3 / 4x500GB RAID-5 / Win 7 Ultimate x64
Lenovo S10e Black / 2GB DDR2 / 160GB HDD / 6-cell battery / Win 7 Ultimate x86
Motorola Xoom
Reply
Options

15 Posts

12-21-2008

USA

20 Signins

100 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 100
  • Message 17 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-20, 16:00 PM

doubt that! What happens with this remapping software, is, that the specific registry entry for the selected button / key gets changed / updated. Unless your OKR key and F8 key are the same (with the exact same hardware ID), it can't happen!

 

The remapping of keys also won't change the standard boot options at all. As I said: it works only under Windows directly.

Reply
Options

84 Posts

03-30-2009

Cairo, Egypt

1155 Signins

4907 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎03-30-2009
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Views: 4907
  • Message 18 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-20, 17:31 PM

 


wrote:

doubt that! What happens with this remapping software, is, that the specific registry entry for the selected button / key gets changed / updated. Unless your OKR key and F8 key are the same (with the exact same hardware ID), it can't happen!

 

The remapping of keys also won't change the standard boot options at all. As I said: it works only under Windows directly.


 

i think my OKR and F8 keys share the same hw id. i found that after a fresh install of windows (without installing or using OKR / keytweak), pressing the OKR key opens the yahoo widgets screen which's default shortcut is F8. and after using keytweak, whenever i remap OKR, F8 does the same function. all of this is of course under windows only..

 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T / 2xATI HD5770 CF / 8GB DDR3 / 4x500GB RAID-5 / Win 7 Ultimate x64
Lenovo S10e Black / 2GB DDR2 / 160GB HDD / 6-cell battery / Win 7 Ultimate x86
Motorola Xoom
Reply
Options

84 Posts

03-30-2009

Cairo, Egypt

1155 Signins

4907 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎03-30-2009
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Views: 4907
  • Message 19 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-20, 17:36 PM

 


wrote:

The easiest solution:

Uninstall OneKey Recovery on your S10, download KeyTWEAK at http://webpages.charter.net/krumsick/ and use it to remap your OKR - I just did it on my S10 and it works excellent, have the OneKey now to mute my system since the S10 has no MUTE Button on default. :-)

 

Here a short description on HOW TO do it with KeyTWEAK:

 

  1. Once you've removed the OneKey Recovery software and you started KeyTWEAK after installation, click in KeyTWEAK on HALF TEACH MODE, then in the new Window click on SCAN A SINGLE KEY.
  2. Now Press the OKR, you should see as SCAN CODE "66"
  3. Select an option in the dropdown list below, for example MUTE
  4. Click on REMAP
  5. Click in APPLY on the bottom right - you computer needs to restart
  6. Done!

 

I hope that helps someone?

Message Edited by Junner2003 on 07-05-2009 09:26 PM

 

in step 2, u got code 66 which is the code of F8, and if u try, F7 is 65, and similarly F9 is 67..

 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T / 2xATI HD5770 CF / 8GB DDR3 / 4x500GB RAID-5 / Win 7 Ultimate x64
Lenovo S10e Black / 2GB DDR2 / 160GB HDD / 6-cell battery / Win 7 Ultimate x86
Motorola Xoom
Reply
Options

15 Posts

12-21-2008

USA

20 Signins

100 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 100
  • Message 20 of 34

Re: How can the S10 OKR key be remapped?

2009-10-20, 18:28 PM

STEP 2 was a value from my S10. It might differ on yours! Simply scan your OKR KEY and afterwards your F8 KEY and you will see that they differ! You would start the OKR SW in Windows otherwise when hitting F8 (which surely is not the case, you would have said so otherwise! BTW: This would indicate that your device is defective!).

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete