English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo U and S Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

10-20-2008

Hong Kong

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2008
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Views: 24
  • Message 1 of 34

How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-20, 10:21 AM

My IdeaPad S10 didn't prompt F2 to enter BIOS setup after power on. I googled similiar case of other brand's netbooks but I stil couldn't enter BIOS setup.

 

So how should I enter BIOS setup in boot boost mode on Ideapad S10 ?

 

Thank you.

Reply
Options

2342 Posts

03-12-2008

Moscow, Russia

2030 Signins

25103 Page Views

  • Posts: 2342
  • Registered: ‎03-12-2008
  • Location: Moscow, Russia
  • Views: 25103
  • Message 2 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-20, 10:59 AM
Maybe you're using hibernation? Try simply log into sytem and then shut down (not hibernate). After this maybe the issue will go away.
//help will save the world
Reply
Options

5 Posts

10-20-2008

Hong Kong

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2008
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Views: 24
  • Message 3 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-20, 14:02 PM

wrote:
Maybe you're using hibernation? Try simply log into sytem and then shut down (not hibernate). After this maybe the issue will go away.
No, I am not using hibernation.
I cannot press F2 to enter BIOS setup because BIOS is probably in boot boost mode to speed up the machine boot process, and it won't let you to enter BIOS setup by F2 or sth. by F12.
So, I am looking for any solution to enter BIOS setupp
Reply
Options

281 Posts

10-01-2008

Denver, CO

461 Signins

3923 Page Views

  • Posts: 281
  • Registered: ‎10-01-2008
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • Views: 3923
  • Message 4 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-22, 16:09 PM
Try delete or F1...
Reply
Options

5 Posts

10-20-2008

Hong Kong

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2008
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Views: 24
  • Message 5 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-22, 17:11 PM

I entered BIOS setup with F2 when it prompted on loading BIOS screen before. But afterward it was in boot boost mode, so it didn't prompt for F2/F12 key to enter sth. in BIOS loading screen.

 

So I am sure that F2 is the key entering  BIOS setup.

 

Anyway, I just tried your suggestion to press DEL or F1 key, but it still can't work.

Reply
Options

281 Posts

10-01-2008

Denver, CO

461 Signins

3923 Page Views

  • Posts: 281
  • Registered: ‎10-01-2008
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • Views: 3923
  • Message 6 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-22, 17:27 PM
Oh, ok.  Then just keep hitting F2 every second after you turn it on then.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

10-20-2008

Hong Kong

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2008
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Views: 24
  • Message 7 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-22, 17:44 PM

wrote:
Oh, ok.  Then just keep hitting F2 every second after you turn it on then.

I tried it before.

 

And I just tried hitting F1 / F2 / Del every second again after I turn it on, and I am still failureto break the boot boost mode.

 

And I tried folowign solutions from google.

 

- Removed AC power and battery, and holding power botton for 10 seconds. (failure)

- Removed memory and hard drive to let S10 found changed hardware config. (failure)

Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-29-2008

USA

4 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 14
  • Message 8 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-10-29, 21:01 PM

I had exactly the problem you described.

 

It happened after I told Windows to "turn off" but then immediately closed the lid (sending it to sleep instead of turning it off).  I then installed a new hard drive.  When I powered back on, the machine would no longer display the prompt to press F2 on the Lenovo POST screen.  I'm guessing that this is so the computer will resume Windows as quickly as possible.

 

I tried removing the battery, hard drive, leaving it unplugged for a while, etc.  Nothing helped.

 

I put in the original hard drive, resumed Windows, and did a proper shut down in Windows.

 

When I powered back on, the F2 prompt returned!  

  

As to what you should do...I'm guessing you too should try to boot back into Windows and do a proper shut down.  Then see if the F2 prompt returns.

 

Let us know how you make out! 

Reply
Options

45 Posts

10-24-2008

New Mexico

92 Signins

636 Page Views

  • Posts: 45
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2008
  • Location: New Mexico
  • Views: 636
  • Message 9 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2008-11-08, 21:06 PM
Anyone find a fix to this?  I am having a similar problem after installing windows7
Reply
Options

4 Posts

07-23-2008

Austin, TX

6 Signins

51 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2008
  • Location: Austin, TX
  • Views: 51
  • Message 10 of 34

Re: How to enter BIOS setup in IdeaPad S10's boot boost mode ?

2009-01-06, 6:48 AM

 

AR15 wrote:

I had exactly the problem you described.

 

It happened after I told Windows to "turn off" but then immediately closed the lid (sending it to sleep instead of turning it off).  I then installed a new hard drive.  When I powered back on, the machine would no longer display the prompt to press F2 on the Lenovo POST screen.  I'm guessing that this is so the computer will resume Windows as quickly as possible.

 

I tried removing the battery, hard drive, leaving it unplugged for a while, etc.  Nothing helped.

 

I put in the original hard drive, resumed Windows, and did a proper shut down in Windows.

 

When I powered back on, the F2 prompt returned!  

  

As to what you should do...I'm guessing you too should try to boot back into Windows and do a proper shut down.  Then see if the F2 prompt returns.

 

Let us know how you make out! 


my case is similar to yours, but i have reformatted the original hdd.  and i tried a shutdown and turn on, it didn't work.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete