cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
InfiraSys
Serial Port
Message 1 of 21

Just bought an S10, fan grinding right out of the box

Hello everyone, I just bought an S10 because of how good quailty Lenovos are claimed to be. I, however am having a problem with my newly bought IdeaPad S10 4333-22u.

As soon as I turned my Lenovo on and it booted to Windows I noticed the fan came on and was buzzing/grinding. It mas making a noise as if the bearing in the fan were going bad or the core of the fan needed a few drops of oil. I am a PC Tech by trade and have encountered many failing fans so I am familiar with the sound they often make before siezing.

After the Netbook ran a little while and heated up, the buzzing/grinding wasn't so loud, but definately present. You could hear the noise from quite a distance away. After searching the web, I found threads complaining of S10 fan noise, but the general idea I got from the forums was simply that the "whirring" noise of a normal operating fan was simply quite loud for a netbook when the S10's fan was at full RPM. My fan on the other hand, is clearly and quite audibly gridning. I don't believe this is what the users on these forums mean when they refer to the S10's noisy fan, correct?

I really like this Netbook and would rather not return it, so I called Lenovo and they promptly sent an RMA Fed-Ex label so that I can send the unit to their service center for a heatsink/fan replacement.

My question is, what does everyone mean when they say their S10 fan is loud? Can anyone describe it? Is it possible someone can record the noise their S10 makes and upload it to the web for me to hear and compare to mine? Is the general consensus that if it's buzzing/grinding it needs to be replaced?... especially on a brand new unit?