Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo U and S Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

10-11-2013

Los Angeles

90 Signins

600 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2013
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Views: 600
  • Message 1 of 6

Lenovo U410 SSD

2013-10-15, 19:50 PM

I'm thinking about switching out the 32GB SSD/1TB HD to a 128GB SSD. Can anyone provide the necessary steps in order to do this? Thanks.

Reply
Answer
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594

Re: Lenovo U410 SSD

2013-10-16, 21:13 PM

Hi Testra,

 

Check your system by running Command Prompt Admin

 

type diskpart and hit enter

   Once you have diskpart, type list disk

 


If you have SSD and HDD on our system preloaded

   you should have Disk0 and Disk 1 listed

 

HDD to the SATA connectors and SSD using msata connection.

this shouldn't be an issue.

 

Cheers!

Solid Cruver



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply

Replies(5)
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Lenovo U410 SSD

2013-10-15, 20:51 PM

Hi telstra,

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community Forums!

 

U410 Support mSATA SSD so You'll need to open up the Base cover to gain access of the card

Here is a Youtube video on how to open it up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sGwQBiGw-Y

at 2.16 you'll find the SSD disassembly.

 

For Transferring Windows to the SSD

You can try Paragon Backup & Recovery 12 Home (free trial) as other users have tested it on their Lenovo unit (see this thread).

 

Change the Boot order so your unit will boot from the SSD

 

Hope this

Cheers!



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

16 Posts

10-11-2013

Los Angeles

90 Signins

600 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2013
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Views: 600
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Lenovo U410 SSD

2013-10-15, 22:01 PM

Do I have to do anything else or is it just that straight forward? I'm guessing I'm going to have to remove the 32GB SSD, Intel Rapid Start, and Intel Rapid Storage? Thanks for the answer btw.

Reply
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Lenovo U410 SSD

2013-10-16, 13:03 PM

hi

 

This is pretty much straightforward,

 

  • Remove the OLD SSD

(This will break what ever caching software is installed on the unit so no need to remove the caching)

 

  • Install the NEW SSD and Migrate Windows using  Paragon Backup & Recovery 12 Home
  • Set The Boot sequence inside BIOS and Make the SSD First BOOT
  • (No Need to enable Rapid Storage and Rapid Start since your Windows is directly installed on the SSD).

Hope this helps,

Cheers!



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

16 Posts

10-11-2013

Los Angeles

90 Signins

600 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2013
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Views: 600
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Lenovo U410 SSD

2013-10-16, 21:07 PM

I don't believe I can have installed the HDD and SSD at the same time, would that affect the program to migrate OS? Not enough slots. Thanks for the great help.

Reply
Answer
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Lenovo U410 SSD

2013-10-16, 21:13 PM

Hi Testra,

 

Check your system by running Command Prompt Admin

 

type diskpart and hit enter

   Once you have diskpart, type list disk

 


If you have SSD and HDD on our system preloaded

   you should have Disk0 and Disk 1 listed

 

HDD to the SATA connectors and SSD using msata connection.

this shouldn't be an issue.

 

Cheers!

Solid Cruver



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms