English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo U and S Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

07-09-2010

Providence

6 Signins

70 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-09-2010
  • Location: Providence
  • Views: 70
  • Message 1 of 201

S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

2010-07-09, 21:17 PM

Hi,

 

I'm having trouble figuring out what kind of RAM to buy to upgrade my S10-3 (type 0647-2AU).  I bought a 2GB 800MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 SODIMM  (Kingston KVR800D2S5/2G).  Unfortuantely, it doesn't fit - the notch is in the wrong place. I'm not an expert on RAM, so I'm not sure what I should have ordered instead. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

 

 

 

Edit : Renamed and joined formerly Posts to S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work 

to make it more clear

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-03-2010

Hong Kong

5 Signins

46 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-03-2010
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Views: 46
  • Message 2 of 201

S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

2010-05-03, 10:59 AM

I have purchased Lenovo Ideapad S10-3s with 1 GB DDR2 RAM,  the performance of the unit is quite unsatisfied even with Windows 7 Starter. So i planned to upgrade the RAM from 1GB to 2GB and hope the performance can be improved. However, i find out that there is no access panel in the bottom of the unit so i can't upgrage the memory in an easy way.

 

I would like to ask how can i upgrage the memory since i can't find relevent information in the website of lenovo as well as over the internet? Can i take it to the service center for upgrading?

 

Thank you very much!

Reply
Options

16 Posts

04-19-2010

Shedden, Ontario, Canada

31 Signins

387 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2010
  • Location: Shedden, Ontario, Canada
  • Views: 387
  • Message 3 of 201

Re: S10-3 2GB Memory Upgrade

2010-05-03, 23:39 PM

a question many have asked and it has been asnwered many times: see here

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-S-series-Netbooks/Memory-Upgrade-and-How-do-I-add-Bluetooth-to-S10-3/td-p/220097

also check the Q and A thread

one of the posts has a link to pictures of someone doing the exchange

s10-3 0647 Red plus 2gb ram
Reply
Options

16 Posts

04-19-2010

Shedden, Ontario, Canada

31 Signins

387 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2010
  • Location: Shedden, Ontario, Canada
  • Views: 387
  • Message 4 of 201

Re: S10-3 2GB Memory Upgrade

2010-05-04, 4:22 AM

see this tutorial

http://www.lenovos103t.com/2010/03/tip-no-1-upgrade-your-ram-memory.html

s10-3 0647 Red plus 2gb ram
Reply
Options

125 Posts

02-24-2010

manila

789 Signins

2088 Page Views

  • Posts: 125
  • Registered: ‎02-24-2010
  • Location: manila
  • Views: 2088
  • Message 5 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-05-04, 5:41 AM

 


wrote:

However, i find out that there is no access panel in the bottom of the unit so i can't upgrage the memory in an easy way.


 

  lqsshedden, your reply won't work. the question pertains to S10-3S not S10-3/T

 

Reply
Options

16 Posts

04-19-2010

Shedden, Ontario, Canada

31 Signins

387 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2010
  • Location: Shedden, Ontario, Canada
  • Views: 387
  • Message 6 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-05-04, 13:02 PM

my bad and apologies for not catching the difference!

Nothing worse than offering advice that is incorrect.

s10-3 0647 Red plus 2gb ram
Reply
Options

2329 Posts

01-21-2009

DE

2771 Signins

119910 Page Views

  • Posts: 2329
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2009
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 119910
  • Message 7 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-05-28, 9:44 AM
Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-15-2010

Taiwan

7 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-15-2010
  • Location: Taiwan
  • Views: 19
  • Message 8 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-06-15, 15:12 PM

Hi 

 

I have the same problem with you.

After trying for times, I learned to take all possible screws from s10-3s and take the keyboard & body apart.

Finally, I found a ram module with 1GB inside.

I change 1GB with my 2GB and done.

 

The key points to taking apart are:

1. taking the keyboard off the body.

2. taking the body into two pieces.

 

If you are still interested in upgrading youself , I can email you with pictures illustrated.

 

Best Regards,

Ahsiu

Reply
Options

4 Posts

07-07-2010

Singapore

8 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-07-2010
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 26
  • Message 9 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-07-07, 14:40 PM

Hi, Can send the pictures and guide on how to upgrade ram. I got no clue. Thanks. E-mail is xxxxxxxxxxx

 

 

Moderator Note; e-mail address removed. Posting an e-mail address is inviting spam, better to use the forum's private message function.

 

Reply
Options

24 Posts

06-30-2010

Vancouver, Canada

336 Signins

788 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎06-30-2010
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Views: 788
  • Message 10 of 201

Re: S10-3 Ram issue

2010-07-09, 23:07 PM

According to Lenovo's website info PC2-5300 DDR2 / DDR3 SDRAM 667MHz is listed, not 800MHz.

Kingston part # is KTL-TP667/2G.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete