Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo U and S Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

07-09-2010

Providence

6 Signins

70 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎07-09-2010
  • Location: Providence
  • Views: 70
  • Message 1 of 201

S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

2010-07-09, 21:17 PM

Hi,

 

I'm having trouble figuring out what kind of RAM to buy to upgrade my S10-3 (type 0647-2AU).  I bought a 2GB 800MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 SODIMM  (Kingston KVR800D2S5/2G).  Unfortuantely, it doesn't fit - the notch is in the wrong place. I'm not an expert on RAM, so I'm not sure what I should have ordered instead. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

 

 

 

Edit : Renamed and joined formerly Posts to S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work 

to make it more clear

Reply
Answer
Options

2192 Posts

05-02-2008

Malaysia

14693 Signins

219550 Page Views

  • Posts: 2192
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2008
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 219550

Re: S10-3 / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

2010-10-22, 6:41 AM

Hi All,

 

Ever since this issue was reported, our engineering team has been working with Intel on this problem while released a recommended RAM list earlier.

 

Please find this link for bios update which is just releasted yesterday.

 

  1. s10-3 bios v37 (2ACN37WW.exe)
    Change history:
    Fixed the memory compatibility issue
  2. s10-3c bios v13 (3CCN13WW.exe)
  3. s10-3t bios v62 (24CN62WW-win.exe)

Important: Reboot your machine prior to bios update

 

Note: Please press F2 to access bios, then press F9 and load default settings in order to get machine works properly after new bios update.

 

Welcome you feedback.

 

On the other hand, I'm still getting update about bios for machine s10-3s. Users of s10-3s please do not simply flash bios of which is not meant for your s10-3s.

 

Regards,

Cleo

 

 


T410, x240

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.


English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Reply

Replies(200)
Options

1 Posts

05-03-2010

Hong Kong

5 Signins

46 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-03-2010
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Views: 46
  • Message 2 of 201

S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

2010-05-03, 10:59 AM

I have purchased Lenovo Ideapad S10-3s with 1 GB DDR2 RAM,  the performance of the unit is quite unsatisfied even with Windows 7 Starter. So i planned to upgrade the RAM from 1GB to 2GB and hope the performance can be improved. However, i find out that there is no access panel in the bottom of the unit so i can't upgrage the memory in an easy way.

 

I would like to ask how can i upgrage the memory since i can't find relevent information in the website of lenovo as well as over the internet? Can i take it to the service center for upgrading?

 

Thank you very much!

Reply
Options

17 Posts

04-19-2010

Shedden, Ontario, Canada

31 Signins

387 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2010
  • Location: Shedden, Ontario, Canada
  • Views: 387
  • Message 3 of 201

Re: S10-3 2GB Memory Upgrade

2010-05-03, 23:39 PM

a question many have asked and it has been asnwered many times: see here

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-S-series-Netbooks/Memory-Upgrade-and-How-do-I-add-Bluetooth-to-S10-3/td-p/220097

also check the Q and A thread

one of the posts has a link to pictures of someone doing the exchange

s10-3 0647 Red plus 2gb ram
Reply
Options

17 Posts

04-19-2010

Shedden, Ontario, Canada

31 Signins

387 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2010
  • Location: Shedden, Ontario, Canada
  • Views: 387
  • Message 4 of 201

Re: S10-3 2GB Memory Upgrade

2010-05-04, 4:22 AM

see this tutorial

http://www.lenovos103t.com/2010/03/tip-no-1-upgrade-your-ram-memory.html

s10-3 0647 Red plus 2gb ram
Reply
Options

127 Posts

02-24-2010

manila

789 Signins

2088 Page Views

  • Posts: 127
  • Registered: ‎02-24-2010
  • Location: manila
  • Views: 2088
  • Message 5 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-05-04, 5:41 AM

 


wrote:

However, i find out that there is no access panel in the bottom of the unit so i can't upgrage the memory in an easy way.


 

  lqsshedden, your reply won't work. the question pertains to S10-3S not S10-3/T

 

Reply
Options

17 Posts

04-19-2010

Shedden, Ontario, Canada

31 Signins

387 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2010
  • Location: Shedden, Ontario, Canada
  • Views: 387
  • Message 6 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-05-04, 13:02 PM

my bad and apologies for not catching the difference!

Nothing worse than offering advice that is incorrect.

s10-3 0647 Red plus 2gb ram
Reply
Options

2420 Posts

01-21-2009

Germany

2771 Signins

119910 Page Views

  • Posts: 2420
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 119910
  • Message 7 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-05-28, 9:44 AM
Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-15-2010

Taiwan

7 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-15-2010
  • Location: Taiwan
  • Views: 19
  • Message 8 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-06-15, 15:12 PM

Hi 

 

I have the same problem with you.

After trying for times, I learned to take all possible screws from s10-3s and take the keyboard & body apart.

Finally, I found a ram module with 1GB inside.

I change 1GB with my 2GB and done.

 

The key points to taking apart are:

1. taking the keyboard off the body.

2. taking the body into two pieces.

 

If you are still interested in upgrading youself , I can email you with pictures illustrated.

 

Best Regards,

Ahsiu

Reply
Options

4 Posts

07-07-2010

Singapore

8 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-07-2010
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 26
  • Message 9 of 201

Re: S10-3s Ram upgarding problem

2010-07-07, 14:40 PM

Hi, Can send the pictures and guide on how to upgrade ram. I got no clue. Thanks. E-mail is xxxxxxxxxxx

 

 

Moderator Note; e-mail address removed. Posting an e-mail address is inviting spam, better to use the forum's private message function.

 

Reply
Options

27 Posts

06-30-2010

Vancouver, Canada

336 Signins

788 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎06-30-2010
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Views: 788
  • Message 10 of 201

Re: S10-3 Ram issue

2010-07-09, 23:07 PM

According to Lenovo's website info PC2-5300 DDR2 / DDR3 SDRAM 667MHz is listed, not 800MHz.

Kingston part # is KTL-TP667/2G.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms