English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo U and S Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

CZ

9005 Signins

170423 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: CZ
  • Views: 170423
  • Message 191 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-07-03, 13:20 PM
@flak

please, take a look at the previous posts.

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

12 Posts

03-18-2011

India

13 Signins

110 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎03-18-2011
  • Location: India
  • Views: 110
  • Message 192 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-07-04, 6:43 AM

Okay so I fixed it!

Put in the old RAM back (pushed it harder so that the gold pins dissapeared into the slot)

 

Then managed to boot and reset BIOS back to default settings

 

Then put in the new RAM and it worked.

 

 

So I can safely confirm that Transcend JM1333KSN-2G works on Ideadpad S10-3s afer the BIOS update.

Reply
Options

2329 Posts

01-21-2009

DE

2771 Signins

119910 Page Views

  • Posts: 2329
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2009
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 119910
  • Message 193 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-07-04, 8:40 AM

flak37 wrote: 

Okay so I fixed it! Put in the old RAM back (pushed it harder so that the gold pins dissapeared into the slot)

 Then managed to boot and reset BIOS back to default settings 

Then put in the new RAM and it worked. 

So I can safely confirm that Transcend JM1333KSN-2G works on Ideadpad S10-3s afer the BIOS update.


 

Thanks for your positive reply :)

 

regards KalvinKlein

Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-10-2011

usa

26 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-10-2011
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 31
  • Message 194 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-11-10, 12:44 PM

I have an s10-3 that I purchased in Thailand.  I bought a DDR2 2gig chip only to find that this S10-3 takes a DDR3.  The s10-3 came with DOS installed and I installed linux (debian testing) on it.  Happy with it but want to upgrade to 2gig ram.

 

My Bios says:

 

Bios Version: 2ACN37WW

EC Version:   2AEC26WW

Lenovo SN:   QBxxxxxxxx

 

CPU is an ATOM N550

 

Moderator Note; s/n edited for member's own protection

Reply
Options

2329 Posts

01-21-2009

DE

2771 Signins

119910 Page Views

  • Posts: 2329
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2009
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 119910
  • Message 195 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-11-10, 20:17 PM

Hi and welcome,

its NOT neccessary to update your Bios Version: 2ACN37WW

is the latest ... :)

Version 37 File 2ACN37WW.exe   -->  <---

Summary of changes
Fixed the memory compatibility issue

Fixed S10-3 auto shutdown when rebooting

Fixed the problem of bright line on upper LCD

1  Modified DMI string for reading SN number in winpe.
2  Modified DMI string for QS function

 

regards KalvinKlein

 

Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-10-2011

usa

26 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-10-2011
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 31
  • Message 196 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-11-10, 20:30 PM

Okay.  So what 2gig sodimm can I buy or will any work?  Browsing this forum has me concerned that not any ddr3 sodimm will work.

Reply
Options

2329 Posts

01-21-2009

DE

2771 Signins

119910 Page Views

  • Posts: 2329
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2009
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 119910
  • Message 197 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-11-11, 10:49 AM

Hi , most concerned about memory, was before that described BIOS 37 fixed the recognition of most memory sticks...your computer is equipped with...

so all  S0-Dimm DDR3 800 2GB  should be good . :)

 

regards KalvinKlein

 

 

Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-10-2011

usa

26 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-10-2011
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 31
  • Message 198 of 201

Re: Help with RAM upgrade

2011-11-17, 2:43 AM

Just to let you know I upgraded my s10-3 with a Crucial 2gb part I grabbed on Amazon.

Part # CT25664BC1339.  Everything's going great and the system is much quicker due to less disk swapping.  Surprisingly, when waking from hibernation my apps begin responding to me much quicker as well (can't figure out why though).

 

Anyway, I'm a happy camper.  If you only run one app maybe 2gb isn't necessary but if you run several apps 2gb is really a boost in performance.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

07-18-2012

israel

4 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎07-18-2012
  • Location: israel
  • Views: 57
  • Message 199 of 201

Re: S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work UPDATE Table

2012-07-18, 23:01 PM
how can I know which CPU is in my S10-3 netbook?
Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-01-2014

hk

1 Signins

6 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2014
  • Location: hk
  • Views: 6
  • Message 200 of 201

Re: S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

2014-01-01, 11:50 AM

Hi Lenovo Support,

 

I recently read this thread and followed the tips on bios upgrade and ram purchase for my s10-3.

Now I am at bios version 37 and got a kingston KVR1333D3S8S9/2G, however I just got a blank screen if new ram inserted.

 

Just checked that my model is a bit different which is s10-3 20039. Will the bios and ram also work with this model number?

 

Thanks a lot.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete