Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-03-2010
Location: Washington
Message 101 of 199 (17,329 Views)

Re: S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

Success!!

 

I have confirmed that on the S10-3 model 0647-35U the following holds true for upgrading to 2GB of RAM.

 

KVR1333D3S8S9/2G <--  Works

KVR1333D3S9/2G <-- Does not work

 

Thank you all for the help and suggestions.  I hope all are as successful as I have finally been. 

 

arr

Community Moderator
Posts: 2,375
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Location: DE
Message 102 of 199 (17,282 Views)

Re: S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work UPDATE Table

[ Edited ]

Memory table Ideapad S-Series S10-3 Updated
All Intel Atom could be upgraded  up to the max. 2 GB of memory due limitations
But there are different memory modul in use that depends on different CPU & model
 Intel Atom N450 and N470 will support S0-DDR2
memory slot will fit a memory with 200 pins notch near more to one side

 

257iFA47CC887661174A

 

Intel Atom N455 and N475 will support S0-DDR2 or S0-DDR3
in Ideapad S-Series there is used memory slot for fitting S0-DDR3 
memory slot will fit a memory with 204 pins notch more in mid to one side

 

259i5F8FB5C9AF382B9F

 

- - -
S10-3   Intel N450 / N470 will fit / support S0-DIMM DDR2 
BIOS 31
Model 0647-32U 33U 23U 29U

 

S10-3   Intel N455 / N475 will fit / support S0-DIMM DDR3
Model 0647-2AU 2BU 2EU 35U
 - - -
S10-3s Intel N450 /(N470) will fit / support S0-DIMM DDR2
Model 0703-22U 32U

S10-3s Intel N455 / N475 will fit / support S0-DIMM DDR3 
Model

approved should work

S0-Dimm DDR 3 1333MHz 2GB Micron MT8JSF25664HZ-1G4D1
S0-Dimm DDR 3 1333MHz 2GB Hynix HMT32556BFR8C-H9 N0
should workin too

S0-Dimm DDR 3 1333MHz 2GB Elpidia
S0-Dimm DDR 3 1333MHz 2GB Ramaxel 
user approved works well

Samsung SO-DIMM 2 GB DDR3 1066MHz  2Rx8 PC3-8500S-07-10-f2 M471B5673EH1-CF8

not approved ??  Kingston ValueRAM SO-DIMM 2 GB DDR3-1333 KVR1333D3S9/2G 

 

not working  Kingston ValueRAM SO-DIMM 2 GB DDR3-1066 KVR1066D3S7/2G PC3-8500

- - -
S10-3t Intel N450 / N470  will fit / support S0-DIMM DDR2
BIOS 25

Model 0651- 37U 85U

S10-3t Intel N455 / N475 will fit / support S0-DIMM DDR3
Model 0651-7HU
- - -

.... offical recommended RAM list. for DDR3  supported machines ..

229i1D9A5B76441720C2

 

Additional Information about Speed 

PC3-8500    DDR3-1066 SDRAM Clock Speed: 133MHz, Data Rate: 1066MHz, Through-put 8.53GB/s
PC3-10600  DDR3-1333 SDRAM Clock Speed: 166MHz, Data Rate: 1333MHz, Through-put 10.67GB/s
1333 MHz is devided by 2 equal 667 MHz  so thats S10-3 with DDR3 runs 667 MHz

 

See  

  knowledge base Ideapad S-Series 

 

if you have another memory that runs well  ... feel free to add here ...

 

sincerely KalvinKlein

 

- - - -  Added User  - - - - -

 

Not working:

eddiejc            S10-3  S0-Dimm -DDR3 2GB Patriot Signature CL9 PC3-10600 (1333MHz) PSD32G13332S

techmergers  S10-3 0647-2BU S0-Dimm -DDR3 2GB Patriot PSD32G13332S 2GB PC3-10666 1333MHz CL9 a second try                 S0-Dimm-DDR3 2GB 2Rx8 PC3-10600S-09-10-F2 Samsung MA471B5673FHO-CH9  1028

@kvenkatt            S10-3 0647-2BU S0-Dimm-DDR3 2GB - Patriot PSD32G13332S PC3-10666 1333MHz CL9

techmergers  S10-3 0647-2BU  S0-Dimm-DDR3 2GB  2Rx8 PC3-10600S-09-10-F2 Samsung MA471B5673FHO-CH9  1028

@q1                    S10-3  0647-48U S0-Dimm -DDR3 2GB Kingston ValueRAM PC3-10660  (KVR1333D3S9/2G)

Working with No issues: 

 @ vince197  S10-3 0647-52M  S0-Dimm -DDR2 2GB Corsair value select  667 Mhz   VS2GSDS667D2

Update :got  2  positive response  from German Thinkpad-Forum ....approved by user

S10-3s 0703-D4G * =  Kingston ValueRAM SO-DIMM 2 GB DDR3-1333 KVR1333D3S9/2G

(but first try memory stick with different production date will produce fault at boot up)

S10-3s 0703-D4G * = CSZ 2GB S0-DDR3 1333 Mhz PC3-10600S CL-9-9-9-24 Compustocx

@papa3r           S10-3  0647- ??? 2GB SO-DIMM DDR3 Corsair 1333MHz CMSO2GX3M1A1333C9

@ treznorx          S10-3 0647-2AU 2GB SO-DIMM DDR3 Kingston KVR1333D3S8S9/2G  a single rank module !

@ jrobideaux     S10-3 0647-35U 2GB SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 Crucial (PC3 10600) Model CT25664BC1339

@ jfaithi               S10-3 0647-35U 2GB SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 Crucial (PC3 10600) Model CT25664BC1339

@ CMBC             S10-3 0647-48U 2GB SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 Kingston KTL-TP3BS/2G (KTL-TP3BS/2G)

 @ linuxuser27  S10-3 0647-35U 2GB SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 Kingston  KVR1333D3S8S9/2G

 

Yoga 2 - Yoga tablet 2 - Yoga Home 900 - ThinkPad X220 All Win 10
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Location: India
Message 103 of 199 (17,267 Views)

Re: S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work UPDATE Table

@ KalvinKlien, thanks for the nice compilation.

 

Guess Lenovo Customer Care is updated with these details and the retailers too...I am very sure that there would already have been 1000s of  Lenovo S10-3 customers who would have undergone the 'Pain' of Upgrade. Am still wondering on what I should be doing with the RAM that I had purchased and that is not working with the S10-3.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Q1
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-07-2010
Location: Canada
Message 104 of 199 (16,856 Views)

Re: S10-3 / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

  • Machine Family :S10-3
  • Machine Type Model :064748U
  • Serial Number 
  • Brand RAM that cannot work: Kingston ValueRAM 2GB PC3-10660 2 GB (KVR1333D3S9/2G)
  • Brand and spec of RAM that can work: Still Looking - Partial success with Crucial 2GB, 204-pin SODIMM, DDR3 PC3, got 1 successful boot up that lasted for 15 mins.
  • What do you see/notice after plug in the new RAM? Blank screen during boot up, fan is running, LED has light.  There is no beep nor any response, no BIOS screen.  I also started the machine up without RAM and the behavior is the same.  I also believe like Linuxuser27, the memory slot is very picky on the size of the RAM.  I plan to try Crucial 2GB, 204-pin SODIMM, DDR3 PC3-10600.
  •  

    Q

    Punch Card
    Posts: 9
    Registered: ‎08-27-2010
    Location: Atlanta,GA
    Message 105 of 199 (16,751 Views)

    Re: S10-3 / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

    Try a single rank module.  A single rank module has only ONE row of chips on the so-dimm.  The Kingston ram you tried is not a single rank module. (I tried that one as well)  

    Lenovo Staff
    Posts: 2,226
    Registered: ‎05-01-2008
    Location: MY
    Message 106 of 199 (16,301 Views)

    Re: S10-3 / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

    [ Edited ]

    Hi All,

     

    Ever since this issue was reported, our engineering team has been working with Intel on this problem while released a recommended RAM list earlier.

     

    Please find this link for bios update which is just releasted yesterday.

     

    1. s10-3 bios v37 (2ACN37WW.exe)
      Change history:
      Fixed the memory compatibility issue
    2. s10-3c bios v13 (3CCN13WW.exe)
    3. s10-3t bios v62 (24CN62WW-win.exe)

    Important: Reboot your machine prior to bios update

     

    Note: Please press F2 to access bios, then press F9 and load default settings in order to get machine works properly after new bios update.

     

    Welcome you feedback.

     

    On the other hand, I'm still getting update about bios for machine s10-3s. Users of s10-3s please do not simply flash bios of which is not meant for your s10-3s.

     

    Regards,

    Cleo

     

     


    T410, x240

    Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
    If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

    How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.


    English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
    Paper Tape
    Posts: 2
    Registered: ‎10-22-2010
    Location: GB
    Message 107 of 199 (16,271 Views)

    Re: S10-3 / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didn't work

    Hi Cleo, I have updated the bios to 2ACN37WW which allegedly solves memory compatibility issues. I have also in my possession crucial ram ct25664bc1339 which is identified as a working 2GB upgrade in this forum. I followed the BIOS install/flash procedure as described in your literature but to no avail. The 2GB ram did not work, my S10-3 with the N475 processor did not boot up, showing only the power and battery light.? I've tried Kingston,hynix and now crucial 2GB ram without success. I have contacted Lenovo tech support 2 weeks ago and at least 5 more times since without an answer. The crucial RAM is the only one I have at the moment but I am reluctant to purchase any different RAM without a definite answer to my problem.

    I have just been informed by Lenovo Tech Support that a Lenovo badged 2GB ram is available at 130 Euros!! Pretty steep price compared to the 30 Euros I paid for the crucial. Not impressed with that price Lenovo, it is half the amount I paid for the entire computer!!!

     Any idea where I go from here?

     

    Community Moderator
    Posts: 2,375
    Registered: ‎01-21-2009
    Location: DE
    Message 108 of 199 (16,242 Views)

    Re: S10-3 / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didn't work

    Hi there  jchardy100  did you press F9 for default settings in  updated BIOS 37 ?

     

    sincerely KalvinKlein

    Yoga 2 - Yoga tablet 2 - Yoga Home 900 - ThinkPad X220 All Win 10
    Paper Tape
    Posts: 2
    Registered: ‎10-22-2010
    Location: GB
    Message 109 of 199 (16,184 Views)

    Re: S10-3 / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didn't work

    Hey KalvinKlein,  tried again after reading your advice and now I'm up n running on the 2GB crucial RAM....big thanks to you. On initial start up with the 2GB in place, tapped F2, then F9 to load default settings, then save and exit, and bingo, boot up. Noticeably quicker with 2GB so worth the hassle in my opinion. Thanks again to all offering advice on this forum, much appreciated.

     

    Paper Tape
    Posts: 1
    Registered: ‎10-23-2010
    Location: Houston, TX
    Message 110 of 199 (16,157 Views)

    Re: S10-3 Ram issue / S10-3s 2GB Memory Upgrade didnt work

    Hello all.

     

    I'm the proud new owner of an IdeaPad S10-3.

     

    Model 0647 (sorry, I don't know the additional designation).

     

    I pulled out the 1G Ramaxel memory and attempted to replace it with

    2G Patriot PSD32G13332S.  Like many of you, the computer would

    not even post after putting in the new stick.

     

    But, after flashing the BIOS with the new file linked to on page 11 of

    this topic, I have been successful.

     

    My computer is now running normally with 2G of RAM.

     

    I would like to give many thanks to all who have worked this issue.

     

    You all have just saved me a trip to Fry's for a refund and at least a week or two

    of waiting for a new stick to come in the mail.

     

    Patrick

    Top kudoed Authors
    User Kudos Count
    1
    1
    1