cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
lellis1959
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Location: Norway
Views: 7,725
Message 1 of 31

S415 Touch wifi issue

Hi.  I just purchased the Ideapad S415 Touch.  The wifi connection drops OFTEN.  It still shows that it is connected, but there is no internet pages load, email stops working, etc.  If I hit "disconnect" on the connection, then hit "connect" again, it works great . . . . for a few more minutes or an hour or whatever.  I went into "properties" and changed the settings on roaming and power management per an article I found on this site.  I think this may have helped a bit, but it's still happening.  

 

Any ideas?

Former Employee
Posts: 2,835
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Location: Malaysia
Views: 7,721
Message 2 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Hi lellis1959,
thanks for posting and welcome to the community. There are various factors to look into when dealing with Wireless issue. This can run from Drivers to setting and some time the router itself.

Let takes this bit by bit and look at all the possible solutions. You mentioned that you changed some settings on power management. I was wondering if you followed the same steps as the link below

http://support.lenovo.com/en_MY/research/hints-or-tips/detail.page?DocID=HT070623

Hope to hear back.

Regards
Former Employee
Posts: 2,835
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Location: Malaysia
Views: 7,720
Message 3 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Just to add to my earlier post, could you also take a llok at this article.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/network-connection-problem-help#network-problems=windows-...

Regards
lellis1959
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Location: Norway
Views: 7,713
Message 4 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Hi, thanks for getting back to me.  I couldn't find the "transmit power" option, and had previously completed the other  suggestion of unchecking "allow to disconnect . . . ". I also looked through the tutorial you suggested below.  I am able to connect to everything fine (initially), and my other laptop is not having this problem at all.  The connection on my Lenovo is working fine . . . until it isn't, LOL!   I updated to Windows 8.1 if that makes a difference.  Very strange . . . 

Former Employee
Posts: 2,835
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Location: Malaysia
Views: 7,709
Message 5 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Hi lellis1959,

Thanks for posting. Hmm, does seem like the Wireless issue that plagued the Win8.1 community, but I'm only assuming at this point. May i know which wireless card was installed in your machine? Is it the Intel or other brands?

Regards
lellis1959
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Location: Norway
Views: 7,704
Message 6 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Broadcom 802.11n . . . I think that's what it is, if I"m looking at the right thing.

Former Employee
Posts: 2,835
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Location: Malaysia
Views: 7,699
Message 7 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Hi lellis1959,

Thanks for posting back, Could you uninstall the wireless drivers and reinistall the drivers from the link below.

http://support.lenovo.com/en_MY/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS037863

Hope this helps.

Regards
lellis1959
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Location: Norway
Views: 7,674
Message 8 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Okay, I just tried that.  We'll see if it works.  Thanks for the suggestion.

lellis1959
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Location: Norway
Views: 7,660
Message 9 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

Okay, downloaded the suggested driver this morning.  It did not help.  Does anyone know how I can go back to Windows 8.0?  Would that help?  I am not all the computer savvy  . . . 

heatpipe
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-12-2014
Location: USA
Views: 7,615
Message 10 of 31

Re: S415 Touch wifi issue

I just bought the S415 and I have the exact same problem.  There's definitely something wrong with the driver.  I tried downloading the drivers referenced in your link but the problem persists.  In my case, I cannot get it to connect to my Linksys EA4500 when the 'Network Mode' is set to 'Mixed'.  If I explicitly set the 'Network Mode' to 'Wireless-G only' then I can connect.  The S415 will simply not connect in N mode no matter what I tweak in the EA4500.  My S415 was also unable to connect to a router/AP combo provided by Comcast without forcing the AP to operate in 802.11g mode.  Can you shed some light as to whether Broadcom has acknowledged problems in this area? 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors