cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
eugenelardy
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 3,591
Message 1 of 10

U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

Long story short. My laptop is capable of running a resolution at 1280 x 800 but currently I am running at 1280 x 720 because when I turn on my laptop the resolution doesn't fill up the screen which ends up leaving a black vertical bar on the right side of the screen. (When I am in 1280x720 I have two black bars one running horizontaly on the top, and one vertically on the right side) 

 

I am forced to use 1280 x 720 even though it's still broken because in 1280 x 800 the taskbar is hidden and a lot of my icons are hidden. 

 

Now, the fix that I have for this was when I was booting up the laptop I would open and close the lid before the "start windows normaly" message would pop up, and it would usually have it filled up the whole way but now this fix doesn't work. 

 

Anyone else have this problem? 

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,286
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
Location: US
Views: 3,572
Message 2 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

Welcome to the Lenovo Community !

 

Have you tried uninstalling the video drivers, rebooting the computer and then installing a fresh copy of the drivers ?

 

The link below is for the available drivers from Lenovo for your model. Just select your operating system in the top box for the correct driver listing.......

 

http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/ideapad-u-series-laptops/ideapad-u310



___________________________________________________________
♦ Find a post helpful? Thank that member by clicking on the ☆Star☆ below
     to award them a Kudo.
♦ Posting a problem and a reply is helpful and it answers your question,
     please mark it as an "Accept As Solution"
♦ I'm not a Lenovo employee, just a volunteer geek who likes to help folks.
Sorry, I don't read unsolicited Private Messages. If you have an issue, posting in     the appropriate forum is the best way to get assistance.

Communities:    English English    Deutsche Deutsche     Español Español     Portugues Portugues     Russian flag Русскоязычное

eugenelardy
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 3,559
Message 3 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

That didn't work. :/

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,286
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
Location: US
Views: 3,553
Message 4 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

From reviewing the specifications of your laptop the recommended resolution is 1366 x 768.  How does that setting look on your laptop ? 



___________________________________________________________
♦ Find a post helpful? Thank that member by clicking on the ☆Star☆ below
     to award them a Kudo.
♦ Posting a problem and a reply is helpful and it answers your question,
     please mark it as an "Accept As Solution"
♦ I'm not a Lenovo employee, just a volunteer geek who likes to help folks.
Sorry, I don't read unsolicited Private Messages. If you have an issue, posting in     the appropriate forum is the best way to get assistance.

Communities:    English English    Deutsche Deutsche     Español Español     Portugues Portugues     Russian flag Русскоязычное

eugenelardy
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 3,551
Message 5 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

The highest resolution I have is 1280 x 800.
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,286
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
Location: US
Views: 3,539
Message 6 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

One other suggestion, have you tried the video drivers direct from Intel's website ?  They are newer than what Lenovo has available.  Here is the download link.......

 

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=24593&lang=eng&ProdId=3711



___________________________________________________________
♦ Find a post helpful? Thank that member by clicking on the ☆Star☆ below
     to award them a Kudo.
♦ Posting a problem and a reply is helpful and it answers your question,
     please mark it as an "Accept As Solution"
♦ I'm not a Lenovo employee, just a volunteer geek who likes to help folks.
Sorry, I don't read unsolicited Private Messages. If you have an issue, posting in     the appropriate forum is the best way to get assistance.

Communities:    English English    Deutsche Deutsche     Español Español     Portugues Portugues     Russian flag Русскоязычное

eugenelardy
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 3,535
Message 7 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

Tried those as well and nothing
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 4,286
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
Location: US
Views: 3,520
Message 8 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

The documentation I can find your model is saying your model has a recommended resolution of 1366 x 768, but you are not seeing it.  Makes me wonder if there is a conflict between the display and video driver.  Try this to clear the stored hardware configuration that the BIOS uses......


1. Unplug the charger / adapter.
2. Press and hold the Power Button for 25 seconds.
3. Plug in the charger / adapter if needed and power up the system to see if the problem was resolved.



___________________________________________________________
♦ Find a post helpful? Thank that member by clicking on the ☆Star☆ below
     to award them a Kudo.
♦ Posting a problem and a reply is helpful and it answers your question,
     please mark it as an "Accept As Solution"
♦ I'm not a Lenovo employee, just a volunteer geek who likes to help folks.
Sorry, I don't read unsolicited Private Messages. If you have an issue, posting in     the appropriate forum is the best way to get assistance.

Communities:    English English    Deutsche Deutsche     Español Español     Portugues Portugues     Russian flag Русскоязычное

ekkohara
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-23-2016
Location: BR
Views: 3,036
Message 9 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

I had the same problem with the black strip at the screen side and this solution using Power Button worked perfectly :-)

Majestic, thank you very much!

td57
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-19-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,719
Message 10 of 10

Re: U310 Laptop resolution doesn't fill up screen

Since it is Intel grahic built in so I downloaded Intel Graphics Driver Update (Ivy Bridge CPU with HD4000) then I was able to made some adjustments as:

(Right click for) Graphic Properties - Intel HD Graphics Control Panel - Display - and change Resolution to 1366 x 768 (not 1280 x 800) and Refresh Rate = 60 p Hz (not 58 p Hz) and Scaling = Scale Full Screen.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors