Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo U and S Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

03-13-2011

Australia

3 Signins

12 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎03-13-2011
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 12
  • Message 1 of 12

Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-03-13, 23:20 PM

Hello

 

I have recently purchased the Ideapad for uni, however it is very very slow and I wanted to give it a bit of a boost by maxing out the ram

Find below the actual specs of the laptop as I cant find any documentaiton as to the actual model of the netbook

also after doing some research on various forums, i think this ram should be compatiable

http://shopap.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/auweb/LenovoPortal/en_AU/catalog.workflow:item.detail?GroupID=38&Code=55Y3710&current-category-id=5CD3F261780D4DB7BD00721EB4929BF6&&hide_menu_area=yes

I was wondering if anyone could confirm this, and that the max ram for this netbook is 2 GIG?

also please note the processor is coming up as N475 under windows

link to image

 

note from moderator: image(s) >50k converted to link(s). 

Reply
Answer
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

Czech Republic

9007 Signins

170449 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 170449

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-04-22, 16:21 PM
did you insert the ram sticks before or after flashing bios update?try to remove/replace the memory first.

if it doesn't work,try this:
press windows + r, type "msconfig" > boot tab > advanced options > mark "maximum memory" > select "2048".
restart your computer and check if it works.


Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply

Replies(11)
Options

2420 Posts

01-21-2009

Germany

2771 Signins

119910 Page Views

  • Posts: 2420
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 119910
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-03-14, 0:37 AM

Hi and welcome,

All Intel Atom could be upgraded  up to the max. 2 GB of memory due limitations ..seems that you have

S10-3   Intel N455 / N475 will fit S0-DIMM DDR3 
Recommended BIOS Update your s10-3 to  bios v37 (2ACN37WW.exe)  Fixed the memory compatibility issue

Important: Reboot your machine prior to bios update

Note: Please press F2 to access bios, then press F9 to load default settings in order to get machine works properly after new bios update. leave BIOS via F10 and save..

 

sincerely KalvinKlein

Further Info: Memory S10-3 ? & Knowledgebase :)

 

Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Reply
Options

15 Posts

03-11-2011

Iran

146 Signins

165 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2011
  • Location: Iran
  • Views: 165
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-03-14, 5:07 AM
Unfortunately several crashes are reported due updating bios. It is recommended to use some brands that don't need bios update. I have tested elixir 2 GB DDR3 before and it was ok without updating bios.
Reply
Options

3 Posts

04-22-2011

SLOUGH, ENGLAND

14 Signins

17 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2011
  • Location: SLOUGH, ENGLAND
  • Views: 17
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-04-22, 4:52 AM

Good morning Mr. Kalvin Klein.

You appear to be very knowledgeable about all things lenovo,

please offer me your assistance.

I have an Ideapad s10-3, an asian one.

I installed WIN7 Home Premium, and the machine is mindbendingly slow.

It has intel atom 455 processor i think, and the factory 1GB DDR3 RAM.

At least it did.

I was recommendced by a good friend that in order to speed up my system, the first thing that i should do, (besides going inot control panel, disabling windows aero etc, etc which i had already looked into in desperation to speed my new machine up) would be for me to upgrade the RAM to 2GB.

So, I bought the 2GB RAM from crucial, online, and although the first time i was sent the DDR2, instead of the DDR3, I got my Memory eventually, and installed it. No problem.

Now, I right clicked mycomputer in the desktop, into properties and it is telling me that 2GB installed, but 1GB unusable?

I had not noticed any change in the boot time, or in the couple of seconds delay when browsing website, checking email and so on, therefore i was unsurprised to see that the 2GB is not working correctly...

I read some the posts that you have replied on and my problem is similsr to the ppl who had a japanese s10-3.

You say, Reboot, update the BIOS, I did it. You said, restore the default in the BIOS menu, i did it. Reboot...

Still in the computer properties it says 2GB available,

1GB unusable???

How else to fix this?

Please assist.

Why oh why is my laptop so slow. :-(

Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

Czech Republic

9007 Signins

170449 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 170449
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-04-22, 10:10 AM
@ theruler2010
can you tell me which version of windows do you have?
32 or 64 bit?


Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

3 Posts

04-22-2011

SLOUGH, ENGLAND

14 Signins

17 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2011
  • Location: SLOUGH, ENGLAND
  • Views: 17
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-04-22, 13:44 PM

WIN7 Home Premium 32 BIT.

Reply
Answer
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

Czech Republic

9007 Signins

170449 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 170449
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-04-22, 16:21 PM
did you insert the ram sticks before or after flashing bios update?try to remove/replace the memory first.

if it doesn't work,try this:
press windows + r, type "msconfig" > boot tab > advanced options > mark "maximum memory" > select "2048".
restart your computer and check if it works.


Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

04-22-2011

SLOUGH, ENGLAND

14 Signins

17 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2011
  • Location: SLOUGH, ENGLAND
  • Views: 17
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-04-24, 1:26 AM
Hi
I used your msconfig, boot menu and maximum memory, restart and now the 2GB memory is working.
Thank you for your help.
Reply
Options

2420 Posts

01-21-2009

Germany

2771 Signins

119910 Page Views

  • Posts: 2420
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 119910
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2011-04-24, 11:07 AM

Hi too late ..but i want describe it more detailed :)

for all other user with this special problem

 

win7 1 GB usable.JPG

 

you should try this

Start & enter MSCONFIG in the Search box. that starts the system configuration program

 

win7 msconfig.jpg

 

You should see msconfig.exe listed – click this to open the utility.

5 tabs general / services / boot / startup / tools

 

win7 msconfig boot tab.jpg

click  the Boot tab, go to Advanced to access the BOOT Advanced Options.

check the max memory. or set Under the Maximum Memory setting,
allocate the maximum amount 2048 of RAM available and click Apply.

You will then need to reboot your machine to continue & the full allocation of RAM should

be available to the system when you reboot!

 

sincerely KalvinKlein

Yoga Home 900 - Yoga 2 11- Yoga tablet 2 all WIN 10 1809
Moto Z Play - Moto Z2 Play
Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-14-2020

Czech Republic

3 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-14-2020
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 35
  • Message 10 of 12

Re:Upgrading ram in Ideapad S10-3 series netbook

2020-03-14, 21:09 PM

Hello,

 

i am trying to upgrade RAM to 2GB in this particular laptop as well.

 

Current module in my model seems to be 1GB DDR3 "Samsung M471B2873FHS-CH9".

 

The thing is that i found this RAM has voltage of 1,8V.

 

Nearest compatible module which i found in my area of being is 2GB DDR3 "Samsung M471B5673FH0-CH9", but that one seems to have voltage of 1,5V.

 

Is it safe to replace the 1,8V module with the 1,5V one?

 

I already talked to some tech repair guys and they told me that it isnt safe - that it could possibly harm the mainboard.

 

So i wanted to assure if thats right and in case that it is, which module would you recommend me?

 

Thanks in advance for any help. :)

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms