cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Guru
Posts: 612
Registered: ‎12-30-2017
Location: PL
Views: 399
Message 11 of 14

Re: What is Maximum RAM for S340-15IWL (Intel) platform?


@SpasilliumNexus wrote:

One thing to notice after installing it: Powering on the laptop for the first time after installing the stick takes around 15 seconds to display the colorful Lenovo logo. At first I thought the RAM stick was incompatible since that 15 seconds felt like forever, but any restart/boot after that will go back to normal.

 

 

2019-08-20.jpg


No worries, it's a normal behavior, when a new (for the device) memory module is installed. Device is simply checking the installed module. I saw this behavior also on different laptops.

 

------
...
miloman1959
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-24-2016
Location: NL
Views: 296
Message 12 of 14

Re: What is Maximum RAM for S340-15IWL (Intel) platform?

The restart issue has been resolved: appeared to be an issue in the MP510's controller Phison E12 firmware. Now running E12.3 (not available from corsair yet..., but from Phision. See this forum https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=188547&t=188547

Also used in some other SSD's.

Restart works flawlessly now and updated (very quick) without any issues.

VineethRaj
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-13-2019
Location: IN
Views: 241
Message 13 of 14

Re: What is Maximum RAM for S340-15IWL (Intel) platform?

Hi I got my new Lenovo S340-14IWL . It has 8GB of RAM and I ran crucial system wizard and it suggested me to use an extra 16Gb stick but the official Laptop documentation said (4+8)Gb max. Can I install a 16Gb stick with my existing one so that total it would make 20 GB? Or should I follow the official OEM and follow those? Can you please help me out. Will installing RAM more than the permittable limit damage the computer. Im just waiting for your answer. If 16 Gb works normally. I will buy and install ASAP. Thanks in advance!

CliveBlu
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-21-2019
Location: IL
Views: 187
Message 14 of 14

Re: What is Maximum RAM for S340-15IWL (Intel) platform?

Why did you need to add memory? Was something slow?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors