Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
josh83
SCSI Port
Views: 672
Message 1 of 8

Afraid to update Bios?

I have Lenovo Yoga 13 just bought it. I saw the latest bios is 2.02 but i read of some issues which has me afraid.

1. In the readme its says under known issues. It says after bios flash , system will autoload bios default. This worries me.

2. I read people computer went into a boot loop

I worked in IT for 8 years. BIOS updates make me very nervous

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Views: 648
Message 2 of 8

Re: Afraid to update Bios?

If your machine works AOK today, leave well enough alone.

josh83
SCSI Port
Views: 642
Message 3 of 8

@sclexman wrote:

If your machine works AOK today, leave well enough alone.

That was what i was thinking if it aint broke dont fix it. The reason i wanted to update was i get alot of fan noise from my understanding under the readme this fixes that

JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Views: 621
Message 4 of 8

I typically tend to agree with sclexman, because as happens so often when trying to fix anything, no good deed goes unpunished.   In your case, howerver, there is a fix that needs to be applied, so you are far better off doing it now while it is brand new and under warranty, so I would probably apply the fix..      

Just make sure to follow the instructions in the readme.txt to the letter, and perhaps even contact Lenovo support and get their go ahead before proceeding.    And be sure to backup you data!

Good Luck,

josh83
SCSI Port
Views: 616
Message 5 of 8

@JDGillis wrote:

I typically tend to agree with sclexman, because as happens so often when trying to fix anything, no good deed goes unpunished.   In your case, howerver, there is a fix that needs to be applied, so you are far better off doing it now while it is brand new and under warranty, so I would probably apply the fix..