Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
JanineT
Paper Tape
Views: 1,033
Message 1 of 3

Connecting Yoga 920 to projector via Windows desktop using AirServer

I am a primary school teacher. I teach in 19 different classrooms, each with a Windows deskptop connected to a data projector and a Polyvision interactive whiteboard. I want to be able to use my Yoga 920 to connect to the IWBs in those rooms, however plugging and unplugging my laptop to connect to the projector each time is not feasible (connection point is not readily accessible in many rooms, takes time, class full of rowdy little children needing my attention!).

(Why can't I just use the desktop in each classroom? I'm a Japanese teacher and I want to use a specific piece of software. To install that software on every desktop would cost my school several thousand dollars per year for a site licence, which we can't afford, and it's a lot of money when I am only in each room for an hour a week. So, I'm hoping I can use my laptop, which has the software installed (legally), to get around the problem and save us money.)

One possible suggestion from the IT people at my school is to connect to the desktop using AirServer, which is installed on every machine (so that teachers can display their iPads on the IWB). From what I can gather, this SHOULD be possible... The AirServer website tells me that my laptop must be able to MiraCast, which I think the 920 can do.

Has anyone tried this? Can anyone help in exactly HOW to do it?

Also, if I am able to get my laptop projected up onto the screen via AirServer, will I still have the touch functionalty of the IWB, or would the students have to use the touchscreen on my laptop?

Alternatively, would Remote Desktop be a better option? ie connect each classroom desktop remotely to my Yoga 920 and work it from there.

Any help/suggestions gratefully received!

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Views: 1,002
Message 2 of 3