cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
soltanreza
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-24-2014
Location: Denmark
Views: 1,530
Message 1 of 8

Core i7-7500

Hi guys,

Can somebody explain what does 2.9 number indicating in the picture I attached?

Capture.JPG?

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,295
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 1,521
Message 2 of 8

Re: Core i7-7500

Hi soltanreza , 

 

Greetings. 

 

On Intel Technical Advisory Document :

 

"The first frequency shown is text included in the processor brand-string, unique for each SKU and programmed at manufacturing by Intel. The second frequency is populated by Windows, and is generated based on a Microsoft* algorithm using certain hardware and BIOS parameters. A mismatch may be present on systems with processors that support cTDP. The first frequency shown in the brand-string is associated with the Base frequency at TDP of the processor, as defined in the processors data sheet. The second frequency will align with the processors highest supported cTDP point frequency as defined in the processor engineering design specification. If the part does not support a configurable TDP point that is higher than the Base TDP, the numbers will match."  

 

I7-7500U CPU @2.70Ghz 2.90 Ghz :

Processor Base Frequency 2.70 GHz
Max Turbo Frequency 3.50 GHz 

Configurable TDP-up Frequency 2.90 GHz 

 

Hope this help answer your query.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

soltanreza
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-24-2014
Location: Denmark
Views: 1,504
Message 3 of 8

Re: Core i7-7500

Thanks for replying, but thats was too technical
What does it mean in simple language? Smiley Happy
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,295
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 1,498
Message 4 of 8

Re: Core i7-7500

Hi soltanreza , 

 

It's a quote from intel but generally means 1st frequency is the base speed and the second one is ideal max frequency it can do similar to stepping up or turbo boost. 

 

Intel value can be higher as per CPU by itself but configurable TDP may regulates it down specially for energy conserving laptop for best performance. 

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

soltanreza
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-24-2014
Location: Denmark
Views: 1,494
Message 5 of 8

Re: Core i7-7500

Thanks, it makes better sense now, but does that mean I never reach 3.5 GHz?
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,295
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 1,489
Message 6 of 8

Re: Core i7-7500

Hi soltanreza , 

 

BIOS would limit it , but this is for the best preventing overheating on the CPU as controlled by the chipset itself while being conducted by the internal thermal system.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

soltanreza
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-24-2014
Location: Denmark
Views: 1,455
Message 7 of 8

Re: Core i7-7500

Can I remove or change the limit, if necessary?
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,295
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 1,450
Message 8 of 8

Re: Core i7-7500

Hi soltanreza , 

 

The Intel® Core™ i7-7500U has a ball grid socket therefore soldered unto the board. 

Perhaps modding the BIOS would do the trick but pose danger as it can brick the laptop if done wrong.

 

If you need more speed , try to check your application first as the machine have other tricks that would allow you better enchancement by other means. 

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors