Options

4 Posts

11-12-2011

UK

8 Signins

29 Page Views

• Views: 29
  • Message 1 of 23

Dear Yoga 2 Pro owners - should I buy this for business use?

2014-02-23, 12:44 PM
I'm a Lawyer and looking for an ultra book to do the majority of my work on.

My only requirements are good keyboard and trackpad, durability, high quality screen to make reading and creating documents as friendly on the eyes as possible, great wireless connection, speed, and for it to last hopefully 2 years before needing an upgrade.

I use acrobat pro and office 2013 extensively.

Will the Yoga 2 Pro be a good choice for me, or should I wait for the thinkpad x1 carbon to be released in my country? (UK).

Thanks for any help you can provide :)
Options

145 Posts

03-11-2012

dc

3733 Signins

7583 Page Views

• Views: 7583
  • Message 2 of 23

Re: Dear Yoga 2 Pro owners - should I buy this for business use?

2014-02-23, 14:55 PM
The Yoga 2 Pro is really thin and light. It's great for me since I travel a lot. I also need a convertible laptop/tablet hybrid for my work as a software developer. I'm not sure it's ideal for you: the key travel is short (due to the thinness of the design), there is no 5Ghz wireless connection, and the trackpad driver has a few minor bugs.

Office 2013 works great on the Yoga 2 Pro's hi-res display. I haven't tried Acrobat Pro though.

It doesn't really sound like the things that make the Yoga 2 Pro perfect for me really matter much to you. You might be better off with a dedicated laptop rather than a convertible, something like the X1, X240, or T440s. All of those are still thin and light for portability.
Options

1725 Posts

08-14-2011

USA

1886 Signins

25513 Page Views

• Views: 25513
  • Message 3 of 23

2014-02-23, 15:12 PM
  • The 1800p resolution is a gimmick since programs are not really capable with this resolution. That said, you will probably reduce the resolution to at least 1080p or worst. I use 900p because some programs even struggle with 1080p.