Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
werig
Blue Screen Again
Views: 237
Message 1 of 8

Did static shock kill my Yoga 730-15?

Hi,

I hope someone can help me. I have a Yoga 730-15 IKB and from time to time during winter I'd get static shocks when touching the metal casing of the laptop.

Yesterday I was writing a paper and I had an insight and ran to my laptop. But when I touched the keyboard it got a static shock, after that the computer went off (though the fans span really fast for a second). Now it won't turn on anymore.

I had the computer connected to Lenovo's original power supply (I rent a room, but I suppose the electrical outlet is grounded -- it does have the third hole for the 3 pins). I tried holding the power button for 10 seconds and releasing, I also tried pressing the Novo button. And now when the power supply is connected to the laptop there's no led light indicating that.

I'm a student and I don't have another $1000 to spend for a laptop. Could the motherboard have been fried by a simple static shock? Or am I missing something? The 1 year warranty ended less than a month ago, but even if I still had it, I need my data. Is this supposed to happen?? I mean, I can't believe that a static shock could kill it, the metal cast was closed and the only change I made to it was adding 8 gb RAM many months ago.

Thanks a lot for any help in solving this!

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Views: 203
Message 2 of 8

Re: Did static shock kill my Yoga 730-15?

Welcome to the Community.

Sorry to hear what happened. Yes, static electricity is any computer's worst enemy, IMO. You can try holding in the power button for a full minute, but the fact you're not seeing a charging light isn't a good sign, I'm sorry to say. The fact you got the shock as you touched the keyboard raises the possibility the discharge path went straight to some sensitive circuitry rather than the case.