Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

56 Posts

10-20-2012

Ireland

439 Signins

1586 Page Views

  • Posts: 56
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2012
  • Location: Ireland
  • Views: 1586
  • Message 221 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-16, 8:40 AM

You don't need to do anything - RAM is always automatically recognized. 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

11-21-2012

Florida

17 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎11-21-2012
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 106
  • Message 222 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-16, 18:21 PM

I know that the RAM will automatically be recognized, but what I'm asking about is the partition for the ram save.  When I did the manual hard drive reconfiguration described in this thread it said to make one of the partitions a certain size if you had 4gb and another if you have 8gb.  I made mine for 4gb but now I want to change to 8gb and I was hoping that someone could describe how to do that.

Thanks

Reply
Options

57 Posts

10-26-2012

North Carolina

148 Signins

684 Page Views

  • Posts: 57
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2012
  • Location: North Carolina
  • Views: 684
  • Message 223 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-16, 18:52 PM
Wouldn't that only be if you actively used Hibernate? Correct me if I'm wrong, but if Hibernate is disabled and sleep is all you use (which is default after running Lenovo's drive allocation patch), you do not need a ram save partition. Am I right here?

I upgraded to 8gb more than a month ago and made no partitions changes; although I did add a second 128ssd.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

11-21-2012

Florida

17 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎11-21-2012
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 106
  • Message 224 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-16, 19:11 PM

I don't know, but I thought that it saved your active memory to the partition any time you closed the laptop and that's why it uses so little power when it is closed.  I guess I would just like to do it right in case it needs to use that partition.  I think that if you don't have enough allocated and try to use the feature then it won't recover when you open the laptop back up.  I'd rather do it right if possible.

Reply
Options

57 Posts

10-26-2012

North Carolina

148 Signins

684 Page Views

  • Posts: 57
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2012
  • Location: North Carolina
  • Views: 684
  • Message 225 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-16, 20:27 PM

Pretty sure that's the difference between Sleep and Hibernation.

 

For sleep, the batter is still in use, the RAM is still getting a small amount of power as to not loose its memory.

 

For Hibernation, the battery is not in use at all. All memory and save state is saved to the hard drive, so the volitile memory loses power and everything is offloaded like you mentioned.


Does that make sense? I'm sure someone out there can explain it better than me.

 

Oh, btw... You'll know the difference, b/c wake from sleep is less than 2 seconds... wake from hibernate is 10+ seconds.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-16-2013

Netherlands

5 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-16-2013
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 15
  • Message 226 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-16, 21:51 PM

I did today; remove all partitions (1 drive of 256GB) and installed Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

All works perfect including touchscreen.

Driver search was no problem, install the Realtek Wlan driver, go to the intel site and let it search for driver updates.

All done.

 

Whats the difrent Win 7 or 8...?

 

Upgraded Windows 7 to Windows 8 Pro.

Use Acronis to make a backup to restore, if...

Done, 1 partition 238,47GB (formatted)

 

Reply
Options

371 Posts

12-05-2009

Boston

304 Signins

1667 Page Views

  • Posts: 371
  • Registered: ‎12-05-2009
  • Location: Boston
  • Views: 1667
  • Message 227 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-17, 12:04 PM

I personally wouldn't use Windows 7 on the Yoga. Windows 8 was designed for touch screens and not to mention it is much faster than Windows 7. If you're concerned about using the desktop mode over the live tiles, there's an easy way to insure Windows 8 boots directly into the desktop.

 

All you have to do is create a task schedule that starts File Explorer each time Windows boots up. This works great and it's fast thanks to the SSD.

 

http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/window-on-windows/make-windows-8-boot-straight-to-the-desktop/6976?tag=content;siu-container

 

 

You can also create a Start Button that gives you all your applications but in a better format. All this is created without the use of third party software.

 

 

 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-21-2013

Ireland

3 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-21-2013
  • Location: Ireland
  • Views: 20
  • Message 228 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-21, 20:30 PM
Thanks Yikes2000 for the flawless guide.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-27-2013

Seattle

5 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2013
  • Location: Seattle
  • Views: 39
  • Message 229 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-27, 7:40 AM

BeastyBoy - This is exactly what I'd like to do, but I'm getting stuck in diskpart and cannot get Windows to install on a new partition. If you could provide exact commands that you used to delete and create partitions that would be very helpful. Thanks

Reply
Options

14 Posts

01-19-2013

Helsinki, Finland

64 Signins

449 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎01-19-2013
  • Location: Helsinki, Finland
  • Views: 449
  • Message 230 of 283

Re: Ideapad Yoga hard disk allocation

2013-01-27, 9:52 AM

I experimented also somewhat similar problems, windows refusing to install to a certain parrition. I was experimenting earlier with different partitions with W8 (not W7). At the end i threw everything out and installed windows to one partition. But the i got also error that "cannot install windows on this partition" (can't remember exactly any more). I wanted the installation to be uefibios compatible, so i had uefi on in bios. The fix was to give "clean" command on diskpart, and after that i gave to W8 setup the whole disk, without any other commands to diskpart. The reason is uefi bios, which requires different boot and partition system, and in this case the old W7 guidance may be misleading. althoug there was no partitions, there was still partition table, and "clean" removes it. The W8 setup created few small partitions before windows partitions. C is 118 GB.


Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All