Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

254 Posts

11-09-2013

Charlotte, NC

339 Signins

2304 Page Views

• Views: 2304
  • Message 1 of 23

Is having an active digitizer really worth it?

2013-12-16, 22:48 PM

For some odd reason, I have always desired an active digitizer.  I am not an artist or someone who enjoys drawing or using paint programs.  I am not a doctor or shop foreman who would benefit from being able to write on a tablet as I walk around.  I am honestly never in a situation where I cannot type.

And let's face it folks, typing is way way way better than writing.  I can type faster than I write, I can search on what I have typed more accurately, I can read what I have typed a month from now (my handwriting is pretty awful), I barely have to think to type (handwriting takes concentration) and I can copy what I have typed and paste it into other programs.  If I really really need to handwrite something I can use a simple stylus - not great but it works.

So WHY do I crave an active digitizer so much so that I have seriously considered trading my Y2P in for a Viao Flip which other than the digitizer is an inferior machine in every way?  It is silly and yet it is there nagging at me.  I could get a Thinkpad Yoga but it is close to $500 more for a similar configuration and I get a worse screen and heavier machine.

Does anyone else suffer over this as much as I do?  It is just so silly.  I have owned a Note 10.1, a Note 2 and a Surface Pro, all with the idea I would use the pen and guess what?  Never used it.  Why? Because my handwriting sucks and typing is better.

Oh well, would have been nice if Lenovo had solved this problem by just including a digitizer with the Y2P but that would have been perfect and nothing is perfect - they always leave that one thing you really want out.

Options

1459 Posts