Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

06-02-2021

Australia

1 Signins

5 Page Views

• Views: 5
  • Message 1 of 3

Laptop Dying Unusually?

2021-06-02, 9:32 AM

Hi!

I'm currently a student who uses my laptop daily as it is a requirement for me to participate in online work. Since last year, I had noticed I would end up having to decrease my brightness and edit my settings due to my power getting more and more worse over time, especially after only an hour of getting onto it!

I got used to it over time since It didn't bother me as much but lately as of this year since going back to school, I noticed that my laptop would easily die at a good 50% or more even after 20 minutes of usage. 

I tend to use my laptop daily and I read somewhere that it'd said that laptop batteries may worsen due to overuse or something else, would this be the problem and will I have to replace my battery at a repair shop? I need to know simply because I get told off frequently for my laptop dying so often.

Options

2567 Posts

03-11-2020

Greece

275 Signins

12976 Page Views

• Views: 12976
  • Message 2 of 3

Re:Laptop Dying Unusually?

2021-06-02, 10:24 AM

Hi reiicyy,

Welcome to the Community Forums.

Every battery has a lifespan in charge cycles, depending on various factors, but usually it is between 300-500 complete charging cycle (from 0% to 100%, so if you charge it from 30% to 80%, it will count half a cycle on battery). So they degrade over time.

What you can do is check Design capacity vs Full Charge capacity (New devices have everything from 1500-3000Kwh difference here which is seen a normal).  If the difference between the two is extreme in comparison to the norm, and your cycle count is high, between 300 & 500. Then you can conclude you have a old battery that is in need of replacement.