Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
imjustagurl
Paper Tape
Views: 2,549
Message 1 of 3

Lenovo Yoga 2 13 (20344) Hard drive replacement help

Hi Everyone,

I'm at my wits end and was hoping someone might be able to help me understand what exactly I need to do, purchase to bring my laptop back to life. Long story short, I have had this for just over 2 years, no more warranty and the hard drive I believe is going out/has gone out. It all started with a failed windows 10 upgrade, kept looping, finally I blew away I guess everything on it. Now when I am trying to re-instal windows 8.1 it tells me that it cannot because the hard disk may fail soon. I can get mostly through the windows setup but it always ends up failing.

My question is, can someone help me identify what exactly needs to be replaced? I am fairly tech savy good at following directions and installing things by myself. (garbage disposals, haha). What I am not good at is trying to track down what hard drive to buy would be? I hate to bring it to best buy as its $200 just for a diagnosis and then whatever to fix it on top of that. 

Can anyone offer insight and help me become enlightened?

Thanks so much,

L

AtypicallyTyp
Serial Port
Views: 2,530
Message 2 of 3

Re: Lenovo Yoga 2 13 (20344) Hard drive replacement help

I figure you aren't worried about voiding warranty, since it's alredy expired, so I would just disassemble the computer and replace the hard drive yourself. The worse case senario is that your computer is more or less in the same state that it is now: utterly useless.

I'm no expert at replacing hard drives, but I did find some links that may help you.

• This Lenovo manual on Hardware Maintnece tells you all about removing your hard drive on page 36