FI

5 Signins

43 Page Views

• Views: 43
  • Message 1 of 9

Lenovo Yoga C740 (15") fan noise

2019-12-01, 17:37 PM

Hello,

So I just bought a Yoga C740 15 inch (model number: 81TD0010MX). When I'm using it on battery power the fan occasionaly kicks in at a relatively low noise level under light use. Browsing, watching streams, using word, etc. This is ok in my opinnion although I think that on my light use it should be expected to be even more silent.

When I do these same tasks with the power cable plugged in the laptop becomes insanely noisy at times. It seems that fan curve is absurdly aggressive and even under low loads it's very clearly audible. This basically prevents the use of this laptop in public places if I need to recharge my battery (like the library where I study almost daily).

I have no notable background apps running (anti virus, etc.) and on idle after starting the pc my processor usage is around 1-3%. And even when idling like this the fan occasionaly speeds up if I have the AC adapter plugged in.

This kind of fan behaviour doesn't seem normal to me. Is there any fix to this or can I somehow customize the fan curve through BIOS for example?

EDIT: I just looked this issue up a bit more and found this video on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ptg5Uy4MD1A

Then I went to power options and there were no options to change the processor power management or many other options that were available on my previous Asus laptop and clearly on some other Lenovo laptops.

Why on earth has this options been removed and can I get it back somehow?

Options

733 Posts

08-02-2018

US

410 Signins

10344 Page Views

• Views: 10344
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: Lenovo Yoga C740 (15") fan noise

2019-12-02, 11:33 AM

Hi ,

Welcome to the Community Forums.

Access the BIOS and sets the System Performance mode to "Quiet" under configuration tab.

Here's a link on how to access BIOS: https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/ht500216

Hope this helps.

Auxen